Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sugarplum9085
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great recipe, I didn't follow the recipe exact, and just threw the veggies in a wok with oil, cooked a few minutes, added some water, definitely not as much as the recipe calls for, added the soy, as well as some veggie paste for extra flavor, and toward the end I thickened it with a few tablespoons of AP flour, you know by the thickness when it is done, it should be pretty thick, and not runny... I added the potatoes to the mix last right before I filled the pie. Include corn in the recipe, it gives the pie an extra element, good stuff, if I had peas I would have added them too. I will definitely do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarplum9085

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used criminis instead of shiitakes, but I think next time I might use a wild mushroom mix for fun. I'll also salt the gravy. I caramelized the onions, and next time I'll add more. I also used fresh herbs. Nice and hearty, and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Incredibly hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I thought it was really great, very mushroom-y :) I made individual pot pies instead of large ones and everyone was pleased. Next time I'm going to try adding some meat (males in this family don't go much for veggie meals) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Hey, it's me, the submitter... I have noticed that a couple of people are saying that the filling is too watery, that could be due to the wrong type of flour... Rice flour absorbs a lot more water than the same amount of AP flour, if you are going to use AP flour, use more flour than the recipe calls for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is my husband's favorite recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Delicious! The only downside was my frozen pie crust, which tasted like a frozen pie crust. Everything else was wonderful. I used allpurpose flour so I cut down on the water - used about 2 cups, and then added flour until I got a gravy consistency. I was too cheap for the shiitakes, and instead used the portabello stems, which worked great. Took the leftovers into work and they disappeared in minutes! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was perfect veg. recipe. My boyfriend and I are not vegetarian though his mother and sister are and this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. Though by following the recipe I made enough for 3 pies. So I ended up baking it in a casserole dish. I paired it with grilled asparagus tossed in olive oil, and lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. Delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe! Excellent flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly (except maybe adding a little more shitake mushrooms than called for) and it ended up to be WAY too much for 1 little 9" pie shell. So, I made pot pie pastries to fit a 13x9 and it was just the right amount of filling for this size. I'm glad there was so much because 1/2 is in my freezer for a later date. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Followed the recipe as written and indeed there was a lot of extra filling. But that was okay because I just put that in a casserole dish for leftovers. The vegetarians at my Thanksgiving dinner really enjoyed this. Would be better with homemade crust if you think you can handle that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States