Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made some adjustments, most notably using a whole wheat pie crust - I also used a 10 oz. package of baby bellas, quartered, and I threw in a rehydrated packet of dried gourmet mushrooms (porcini, black, more shitake and oyster), using some of the liquid in place of the water. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and for herbs, 1 tsp each sage, thyme and savory, and I used plain all-purpose flour for the rice flour. Sounds like a lot of changes, but I don't think my changes were totally drastic. The filling is PHENOMENAL! Since I hate pie crusts and they seem to hate me, I will probably use storebought crusts in the future, but I can totally see myself making this filling - maybe minus the potatoes - to serve over noodles. I did have a little extra filling - maybe a cup - but no worries...it was delicious! :) Thanks, John, for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious! . I agree with a previous reviewer that the carrots, and celery should be sautéed briefly before being added to the gravy mixture, to bring out their flavor. . I used about seven Tbsp. of all purpose flour instead of buying rice flour, and that worked perfectly. . Don't skimp on the crust by using refrigerator crust - make a great homemade crust to really complement this hearty, delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarplum9085
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great recipe, I didn't follow the recipe exact, and just threw the veggies in a wok with oil, cooked a few minutes, added some water, definitely not as much as the recipe calls for, added the soy, as well as some veggie paste for extra flavor, and toward the end I thickened it with a few tablespoons of AP flour, you know by the thickness when it is done, it should be pretty thick, and not runny... I added the potatoes to the mix last right before I filled the pie. Include corn in the recipe, it gives the pie an extra element, good stuff, if I had peas I would have added them too. I will definitely do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarplum9085

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used criminis instead of shiitakes, but I think next time I might use a wild mushroom mix for fun. I'll also salt the gravy. I caramelized the onions, and next time I'll add more. I also used fresh herbs. Nice and hearty, and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I thought this was missing something. It just tasted bland to me. I was expecting a stronger mushroom taste or something. I also didn't care for the consistency of it. It isn't that it tasted bad...it just was to bland for me. I certainly am going to eat the rest of it but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Delicious. There was too much filling, but it didn't matter because I had devoured the extra filling before the pie was even ready. As always, I use my trusty pie crust recipe from this site (pie crust IV). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Delicious! family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am a vegetarian and live off of stir fried veggies. I believe the best way to make this work is to pre-fry all the veggies so their best flavor comes through. This was a huge hit at my potluck and I'm making it for Christmas this year! Gruyere cheese, sherry, broth and cornstarch are my additions to make it lovely and so, so flavorful. To die for! -Fry the onions in the olive oil until they start to carmelize. -Add the carrots and celery and cook for about 5 minutes. -Add all the mushrooms and stir-fry together with the other veggies until they are all browned, tender, and fragrant. If the carrots and celery are still a little too firm, they'll soften as the pie bakes. -Add 1/2 C Sherry and the tamari. Whisk in about 1 T cornstarch (as you would the rice flour) and simmer until the mixture starts the thicken and bubble. -At this point, add the potatoes and whisk in as much veggie stock as you need to reach a desirable consistency. -Grate in about a 1/4 C Gruyere cheese! The filling is done. Prepare the pie as you would according to the recipe. Grate a little gruyere cheese over the top before popping it into the oven and you will be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Followed the recipe as written and indeed there was a lot of extra filling. But that was okay because I just put that in a casserole dish for leftovers. The vegetarians at my Thanksgiving dinner really enjoyed this. Would be better with homemade crust if you think you can handle that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Sorry, but although this turned out right texture-wise, my family and I all thought it was missing some taste. Perhaps more salt and spices would have given this more flavor. This was the first pot pie that I've tasted before, but it just seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States