Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was having a vegetarian guest for Thanksgiving, so I decided to make this is a veggie entree. I didn't actually try any of it myself since I loathe mushrooms, but my vegetarian guest and the others who tried it absolutely LOVED it. It was relatively easy to make, and it was great to know that I had a solid main course for the vegetarians. I'm definitely going to hold on to this recipe! I stuck to the recipe and made no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This can be a good vegan Thanksgiving main dish with some modifications. Most importantly, make sure the filling is liquid enough (about the consistency of gravy), as it doesn't taste good when it's too thick and some of the water will evaporate in the baking. However, if you're using all-purpose flour instead of rice flour, you can use 1 1/2 times as much. Also, it's a good idea to taste the filling while it's cooking and add extra soy sauce (up to 1 1/2 times as much total) if you find it's too bland. The carrots and celery should be added to the pot with the onions and mushrooms, so that they end up soft instead of crunchy. Finally, make sure the pie crusts you use are unsweetened (0g sugars in the Nutrition Facts) so they fit with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
pretty good, I would make it again. I wasn't wowed by it, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Absolutely the best! I followed the directions given and it came out perfectly. My non-vegetarian friends loved this dish:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Really not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made some adjustments, most notably using a whole wheat pie crust - I also used a 10 oz. package of baby bellas, quartered, and I threw in a rehydrated packet of dried gourmet mushrooms (porcini, black, more shitake and oyster), using some of the liquid in place of the water. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and for herbs, 1 tsp each sage, thyme and savory, and I used plain all-purpose flour for the rice flour. Sounds like a lot of changes, but I don't think my changes were totally drastic. The filling is PHENOMENAL! Since I hate pie crusts and they seem to hate me, I will probably use storebought crusts in the future, but I can totally see myself making this filling - maybe minus the potatoes - to serve over noodles. I did have a little extra filling - maybe a cup - but no worries...it was delicious! :) Thanks, John, for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious! . I agree with a previous reviewer that the carrots, and celery should be sautéed briefly before being added to the gravy mixture, to bring out their flavor. . I used about seven Tbsp. of all purpose flour instead of buying rice flour, and that worked perfectly. . Don't skimp on the crust by using refrigerator crust - make a great homemade crust to really complement this hearty, delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarplum9085
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great recipe, I didn't follow the recipe exact, and just threw the veggies in a wok with oil, cooked a few minutes, added some water, definitely not as much as the recipe calls for, added the soy, as well as some veggie paste for extra flavor, and toward the end I thickened it with a few tablespoons of AP flour, you know by the thickness when it is done, it should be pretty thick, and not runny... I added the potatoes to the mix last right before I filled the pie. Include corn in the recipe, it gives the pie an extra element, good stuff, if I had peas I would have added them too. I will definitely do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarplum9085

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious! I used criminis instead of shiitakes, but I think next time I might use a wild mushroom mix for fun. I'll also salt the gravy. I caramelized the onions, and next time I'll add more. I also used fresh herbs. Nice and hearty, and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I thought this was missing something. It just tasted bland to me. I was expecting a stronger mushroom taste or something. I also didn't care for the consistency of it. It isn't that it tasted bad...it just was to bland for me. I certainly am going to eat the rest of it but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States