Portobello Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The filling was very good with some minor tweaks but like some of the others reported, it came out runny. I added veggie Worcester sauce and a sprinkle of red pepper. I also added a couple of cloves of minced garlic and since I didn't have any sage I used a similar amount of herbes de provence. I used homemade veggie broth and a tablespoon more of rice flour. The gravy was a good consistency in the pan and I hoped it would thicken up more when baking but it didn't. So it looked very nice until cutting it when it fell apart. But it would make a very good stew by adding some peas or other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My mum and I found this a bit bland, especially the sauce. It needed something hefty to thicken and flavor it, maybe some added flour and spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I did make this the way that CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY said to make it, without the cheese seeing as I am a vegan and whoa! Flavor explosion! It is definately one of my favorites by far! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe and for CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY's additions! If you make this recipe, you truly will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
His makes a huge pot pie. It ts edible, but there are a lot better ways to eat mushrooms, potatoes, and carrots. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Hubby rates it a 3, while I give it a 4. It tasted great! I was entirely satisfied with this as my meal. My husband, on the other hand, was raiding the fridge after only a couple of hours. Possibly all mental so next time I'm not telling him if something is meatless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Delicious! Total prep plus cook time was accurate, even including making the crust from scratch! My only mods were 7.5 Tbs of AP flour instead of rice flour, only 5 potatoes, add in the other veggies to the frying bellos, and to use one portobello cap and a bunch of baby bellos instead of two caps. (Personal notes: bought a tri-pack of mushrooms (baby bellos, shiitake, and oyster), used babies and one cap (of a pack of three), used savory crust recipe in recipe box, used 7.5" by 9.5" Pyrex dish, whisk flour in a separate bowl before adding to gravy so you don't have clumps!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I had no problem with it being to runny or not fitting in the (homemade) pie crust/plate, I just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this recipe for a Vegetarian friend- she loved it! Made it with a whole wheat pie crust and it was great! It had a little too much onion for my taste, but my friend didn't think there was too much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wasn't sure about this until the first bite. It even was better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States