Portobello Port Sauce for Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Kind of a sweet sauce, but great! Really good on steak! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This recipe was wonderful - very french gourmet. I added sliced onion and doubled the recipe. I did add more sour cream at the end because I thought the wine was overpowering. Next time I'll make it with a mellow flavored wine. But it was great on steak! I'll also slice the mushrooms thicker next time so their flavor and texture doesn't get lost in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very Good! Used dehyrated portobello mushrooms (re-hydrated), substituted the sour cream for half & half cream and added shallots. Worth doubling the liquids next time to make it more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I used 1/4 cup red wine, 1/4 cup soy sauce & 1/4 cup water, then added onions & water chestnuts...I, too, seared steak, then broiled in oven. Very juicy! My kids were eating the leftover sauce out of the pan after dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Per other reviewer suggestions, I used 1/3 cup port, 1/3 cup water, and 1 TBSP soy sauce. This sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I had high hopes for this recipe and I was very disappointed. My husband didn't like it either. The color was a real turnoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This wasn't my favorite, it was too sweet for my liking. I've only had port wine in cheese so I am to blame on that issue. Maybe I'll try it with Merlot. Thanks any way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Way too sweet. Covered up the steak completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
WOW! This sauce is great!! Restaurant quality and totally company-worthy. Being a mushroom lover, I used a whole 10 oz. package of mushrooms so the steaks were smothered with them. Delish--but next time I'll double the rest of the recipe to have a generous amount of sauce. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This is an unbelievable sauce that adds the crowning touch to any steak. It is quick and easy to prepare, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States