Portobello Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Don't look at the picture that goes with this recipe! It doesn't look anything like the finished product. This was great. My husband and I are on our 2nd month of South Beach and I was craving pizza. This was a perfect fit! Definitely add pizza sauce and I also topped it off with "Presti's Pizza Seasoning". It had a great pizza flavor. We also cooked them for 8 minutes and I think thinner mushrooms taste better than the real thick ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
THIS IS A FAMILY FAVORITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I'm rating this 5 stars because I changed the recipe. I used wheat pitas as the crust, sauteed the portabello mushrooms, tomatoes and basil, added some Classico Spicy red pepper sauce and mozzarella cheese with some extra oregano, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder. These rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was wonderful. I did cut back a bit on the basil, and next time I'll chop the tomatoes up a bit more, but apart from that I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I found this recipe to be interesting. I worked in a pizza restaurant for a few years in my late teens. I found, however, that as this recipe does not call for dough it all falls apart when you try to serve it. The photo shows a beautiful dough crust. The recipe has forgotted to include it. The idea was good and I have made it again with a crust, however, this is very different from that in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Painted Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Vitória, Espírito Santo, Brazil
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I'm on phase 1, and I'm pretty sure I can eat this. Anyways, this was a good replacement for pizza. I put slices of reduced fat salami, peppers, and green onions on top. They were piled high and a little messy but were still very good. I also used dry basil and lots of oregano on the tomatoes, and it was very flavorfull. These hit the spot on South Beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Big winner in my house - anything that looks like pizza is awesome. And this is a good healthy alternative. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Made these for a quick lunch and YUM! It's so easy and well healthy. I used a pizza sauce from an Italian store and some mozz cheese and on my pizza I added some finely chopped onions (yum!) My toddler loved it...I made 2 only so we could try it. Next play date I'll definitely be making these for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This was delicious. I got a little creative and added ricotta cheese on it and black olives. But I really enjoyed it and my 21 month old loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was very good. I love Portobello's and this was a nice, fun, delicious way of eating them. Will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States