Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I've made this several times now (I can't seem to get enough of it!!) I double the garlic, cut the butter in half, and only use 1 3/4 c milk to avoid the sauce getting too runny. I've made it with and without soy sauce and it's good either way. My favorite modification has been a few red pepper flakes for an added kick. So good!!! I will definitely be making this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I definitely changed a couple of things, because I used what I had in the fridge! I cut back on the soy sauce, added more pasta & mushroom, added parm. cheese and used broccoli instead of spinach. This is a great hardy meal and the left overs are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Very yummy. I was a little leery of the soy sauce, but it ended up being delicious! Not at all overpowering, but just another interesting dimension to the dish. The recipe doesn't state, but I did wring the excess water from the spinach. My sauce was still just the right consistency...I think it would have been too runny if I hadn't done that. I used part-skim mozzarella and 1% milk and it turned out fine. Only substitution I made was parsley for basil since I'm not a basil fan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
WOW! This was fantastic and my husband said it's now one of his all time favorite meals. I did tweek it, however. I cooked the mushrooms in the butter and oil (and cooked them until they were completely soft...about 8 minutes). I added 4 cloves of garlic and used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1 cup of 1% milk (because that's what I had). Lastly, I squeezed the water out of the spinach and chopped it finely. I was reluctant to use the soy sauce because it seemed like a strange combo. DON'T leave it out! It gives the dish it's wonderful and different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I swear this is the same recipe i get at my favorite itailian resturant, just with spinach. I disagree with some reviews that it could do without the soy sauce. The soy sauce IS the recipe. Without it, it is just a regular cream sauce. But I agree that you do have to wring the spinach out which the recipe does not mention. I followed the recipe except that I added a little more flour to make sure the sauce was thick enough and I mixed all the cheese in instead of putting it ontop. When I make it agian I will make it with less spinach. Just a heads up though- becuse of the soy and the spinach it is not that great to look at. But it sure tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
5 stars for something different and interesting that my boyfriend will eat! I used low fat mozzerella and it was delicious. I am going to double the spinach next time too. Instead of dried basil I used pesto. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Made as written, I give this 3.5 stars - I didn't think it was nearly cheesy, and the sauce was pretty thin and watery. However, I added more cheese - a combination of mozzerella, Swiss and extra-sharp Cheddar - and also a splash of heavy cream which REALLY improved it. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen. This ended up being one of the best things I have made in a while. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Excellent dish! My boyfriend said he could eat it every day and not get tired of it. I made a few minor changes - used some random pasta I had (not penne), replaced the soy sauce with some salt and added a extra cup of water to the sauce because it was too thick. It is very important to simmer the flour for a few minutes (stirring) before pouring the liquid in - that will give it more thickness. I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
After reading all of the reviews on AR, I decided to do the following: Sautee the mushrooms till tender; let weep and throw out the extra liquid... I'll keep it in next time; with the added cheese it could have been a tad 'wetter.' Triple the garlic... absolutely! It would have been so much less without the extra garlic! Add Parm (1/4 cup) and Monterey Jack (a handful shredded) to the sauce. Add Sun-Dried Tomatoes (maybe 6 or 7, sliced)... we loved this... also great with the addition of roasted red peppers. Add black pepper... will add some cayenne next time. Top with additional Mozz AND Parm. I've made this three times already and my entire family went nuts over it... even the so-called mushroom-hating and spinach-hating members. This is one heck of a recipe and I wouldn't hesitate to serve it to company. Many thanks, chmadden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This recipe is very versatile. It makes wonderful leftovers to take to work. The flavor improves and intensifies with time in the fridge. This is an easy and very healthy recipe to make (I have made it twice in the first week). This recipe is a nice blueprint for future variations. I plan to experiment by changing the cheese type, substituting soy for worchester, or by changing the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfab

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States