Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is fantastic! I tried it for my family first and my husband said 'it's a keeper'! (rare) I then baked it for our holiday book club and they loved it. It is very rich so I served it with a green salad and chocolate covered almonds. A heavy dessert would be too much. I did substitute butter for the margarine and Braggs liquid Aminos for the soy sauce. Next time I will add chicken and I expect it will work out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious! I used only 2 tbs margarine and 1 tbs flour flour. I also used fresh spinach that I cooked down myself. The soy sauce adds another dimension of flavour. I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The sauce was thick and perfect, and was a hit with my fiancee. I think I might try this again with a light breadcrumb crust and broil it for a minute, just to make it feel like more of a casserole and not just a super charged mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I will make some minor adjustments next time(maybe adding some tomato or chicken), but overall this was good and my guests enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used slightly more pasta (10-12 ounces). Also I accidentally put more basil in when the cap came loose but I think the extra basil is good. The soy blended in with other ingredients, so I don't understand reviewers who say "all I can taste is soy- ewww!" They probably forgot an ingredient or measured wrong. I'm giving this 4 stars because my family rated it 4- I think it is a 3. Also I can't see how this serves 8 people; more like 5 or 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i needed to do something with my mushrooms, spinach, lasagna noodles and this was perfect! I added in more stuff that was in my fridge: I added an egg to the flour-margarine mixture; I added mild cheddar and parmesan cheese to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gallagurl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I would even try adding a can of diced tomatoes and some cooked, chopped chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written and I have to say it was wonderful. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Okay I made a few changes based on what I had but this was wonderful. I had pasta last night so I made this with saffron rice. Also I sauted a vadalia onion with the mushrooms. I used fresh spinach and cooked it with a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice and used one cup milk and a half of cup of heavy cream. This was DEVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I will definitely make again - maybe next week! I sauteed onion, then added the portobellos, but added a bit more time for browning. I cut margarine in half, and used more garlic. I only had non-fat milk and skim mozzarella, so used those. The resulting white sauce wasn't smooth and rich (obviously) so I tossed in ~ 1/2 c. of parmesan, kept stirring and it turned out great tasting and creamy. I used fresh spinach, stirred it into pasta and sauce, then added the rest of the ingredients along with sun-dried tomatoes. I forgot the soy sauce, so who knows how good it will be if I choose to make it correctly! Everyone at home said mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States