Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this as the Vegetarian option for Christmas dinner. It was very good, and I'll make it again with a few changes. The minor problem I had was that I made the sauce too thick. Once I added the cheese, it was so thick it was difficult to mix in the pasta, mushrooms and spinach. Next time I won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I also had to bake it for at least 10 minutes longer to get it bubbly and brown--probably due to the thickness of the mixture. ALTERATIONS I MADE: I used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. margarine and used reduced sodium soy sauce. I also sauteed the mushrooms longer and added a little of the garlic to the olive oil. CHANGES I'LL MAKE NEXT TIME: I'll increase the amount of mushrooms and reduce the penne to compensate. I'll also reduce the amount of cheese or use of mixture of cheeses instead of just mozzarella, which is a little bland. And I definitely won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I may also throw in some sun dried tomatoes to add a little dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was so good and SO easy! I had to make a few alterations based on what I had on hand (don't we all?) and completely omitted the spinach (though next time I make it, I'll be sure to throw it in!). I also didn't have a lot of milk (only about half a cup left...ah, the life of a college student on a meager budget...) so I added a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup that I had. I used an Italian cheese blend of parm, fontina, asiago, etc and doubled the garilc. Turned out fantastic! I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Pretty good. I used fresh spinach like others and just stirred into hot hot sauce. I felt the sauce was a little on the bland side, so prior to baking I added a little garlic salt, pepper and some Parmesan. I had some as leftovers and felt it was even better the second time. Really like this and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My family loved this! I reduced the margarine by half (and used butter) and the sauce still came out beautifully. I might try a different mix of cheeses next time. I reduced the soy sauce too, since I was a little uncertain about that addition. My family thought it was great as it came out, though if I do the same next time I will add a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Like some of the other reviewers I cut the butter in half for the sauce and that worked perfectly. I used half the amount of soy sauce in the recipe and still felt that the flavor was too strong. The next time I make it I may decrease the soy sauce to 1/2 - 1 tablespoon. I think this recipe may be in regular rotation in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Loved it! Added a lot more fresh basil so mine kinda had a pesto feel. Also used fresh spinach and some onion. Will make again and again! thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It was delicious and easy. Pinned to my weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was really good. The only things I changed were butter instead of margarine because I didn't have it and a teaspoon of jarred minced garlic because I always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
So good. But once you make it, you know how it gets to be that good. Maybe I'll try a lower-fat version next time. Made enough to feed three twice over. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Love Love Love! We use this recipe often since everyone in my family LOVES this! I use olive oil instead of vegetable and vegetable oil instead of margarine. I cut back by 1-2 Tablespoons of the soy sauce to reduce the sodium. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States