Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I will definitely make again - maybe next week! I sauteed onion, then added the portobellos, but added a bit more time for browning. I cut margarine in half, and used more garlic. I only had non-fat milk and skim mozzarella, so used those. The resulting white sauce wasn't smooth and rich (obviously) so I tossed in ~ 1/2 c. of parmesan, kept stirring and it turned out great tasting and creamy. I used fresh spinach, stirred it into pasta and sauce, then added the rest of the ingredients along with sun-dried tomatoes. I forgot the soy sauce, so who knows how good it will be if I choose to make it correctly! Everyone at home said mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I did my best to make this lower in calories and use healthier ingredients. I used whole wheat penne rigate and 1 tablespoon each of butter and EVOO with 2 tablespoons flour instead of the 1/2 cup of butter/1/4 cup of flour to make the roux. I also used 1 can fat free evaporated milk and made up the rest up to two cups with nonfat milk. I sauteed the mushrooms and the added half large onion and 4 cloves garlic in another tablespoon each of butter and EVOO before adding the roux ingredients. It was plenty thick the way I made it, especially after adding the cheese. I used fresh spinach that I tossed with the pasta and sauce after I'd removed them from the heat and I only used 1 tablespoon of worchestershire sauce (I'm out of soy at the moment--there's actually a little soy in worchestershire sauce) just to cut down on the salt. I think I did pretty well with my healthier substitutions. The kids and husband thought it was pretty good. I think I might omit the worchestershire/soy sauce next time and go with another flavor. I think it needs something but the soy/worchestershire isn't it. Maybe more mushrooms? I served this with Chicken Breasts with Balsamic and Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
wow!!! Love it and SUPER easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Loved it! I served it at a BBQ for 20 people and everyone - children included - raved about it and there wasn't a bit left. I made it as is. Those who feel it's runny probably aren't making the white sauce properly: remember slow, low temperature, stiring lots, have patience for it to really thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is an excellent dish that my entire family LOVES. That includes a one and a three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was outstanding! My family loved it and I have since made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Fantastic dish. Can't wait to make it again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I had some extra portobello's in the fridge I needed to use up before they turned, and I am VERY happy I chose this recipe. I didn't have any soy sauce so I omitted that, but it was still delicious. I feel like it could have used a little more pop somewhere, maybe more basil or garlic? However, I also like my food very seasoned, so it could be personal preference. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used white mushrooms instead of portobello, which I didn't have, and doubled the garlic. I thought this was quite good. The soy sauce gives it a nice touch. Nice, thick consistency. The only problem was I thought it lacked a deep, rich flavour. Maybe I shouldn't have substituted the mushrooms? I will make again, but will tweak the flavours a bit. Note: for those of you who like to eat pasta cold, this dish does NOT taste very good cold. Much better heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved it, but somehow my husband did not... :( I doubled the garlic, substituted the mozarella with slices of light provolone (that's what i had in the fridge) layered at the bottom and on top, and used 1% milk and did everything else according to recipe, and it came out wonderful. Even better for leftover the next day! I don't know why people's sauce are not thickening; mine came out really nice and thick even though i used low fat milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shobi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States