Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Loved it! I served it at a BBQ for 20 people and everyone - children included - raved about it and there wasn't a bit left. I made it as is. Those who feel it's runny probably aren't making the white sauce properly: remember slow, low temperature, stiring lots, have patience for it to really thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is an excellent dish that my entire family LOVES. That includes a one and a three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was outstanding! My family loved it and I have since made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Fantastic dish. Can't wait to make it again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I had some extra portobello's in the fridge I needed to use up before they turned, and I am VERY happy I chose this recipe. I didn't have any soy sauce so I omitted that, but it was still delicious. I feel like it could have used a little more pop somewhere, maybe more basil or garlic? However, I also like my food very seasoned, so it could be personal preference. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used white mushrooms instead of portobello, which I didn't have, and doubled the garlic. I thought this was quite good. The soy sauce gives it a nice touch. Nice, thick consistency. The only problem was I thought it lacked a deep, rich flavour. Maybe I shouldn't have substituted the mushrooms? I will make again, but will tweak the flavours a bit. Note: for those of you who like to eat pasta cold, this dish does NOT taste very good cold. Much better heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved it, but somehow my husband did not... :( I doubled the garlic, substituted the mozarella with slices of light provolone (that's what i had in the fridge) layered at the bottom and on top, and used 1% milk and did everything else according to recipe, and it came out wonderful. Even better for leftover the next day! I don't know why people's sauce are not thickening; mine came out really nice and thick even though i used low fat milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shobi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was exceptional! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a jumping off point. I cooked the mushrooms with a cup of chopped onions and 2 cloves of minced garlic, then used 4 tablespoons butter, 6 tablespoons flour, and 3 cups of milk to make the sauce. I accidentally used a teaspoon and a half of basil instead of half a teaspoon, but it was good anyway. Because I increased the milk, I used 5 tablespoons of soy sauce. Upon tasting it, I decided to add 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar because I didn't really like that you could identify the soy sauce flavor and one of our favorite sauces for sauteed or roasted veggies is browned butter, soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. I was a little worried about the sauce separating, but it was fine thankfully. You couldn't really identify the flavors as being soy sauce and balsamic vinegar, it was just good. Oh and I used 13 oz broccoli instead of spinach and left out the cheese. So my version was kind of different from the written recipe, but such is the joy of manipulating recipes to what you want! All in all, we quite enjoyed this casserole and I plan to make it again. Next time I'm going to add 2 chopped, cooked chicken breasts (which I forgot to add this time around, I increased the sauce because of the chicken and extra broccoli!) and sprinkle swiss cheese in the middle and on top. I think adding a can of rinsed Great Northern beans for the protein would be good too if you want to keep it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Absolutely love this vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahleesinful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States