Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The sauce was thick and perfect, and was a hit with my fiancee. I think I might try this again with a light breadcrumb crust and broil it for a minute, just to make it feel like more of a casserole and not just a super charged mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I will make some minor adjustments next time(maybe adding some tomato or chicken), but overall this was good and my guests enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used slightly more pasta (10-12 ounces). Also I accidentally put more basil in when the cap came loose but I think the extra basil is good. The soy blended in with other ingredients, so I don't understand reviewers who say "all I can taste is soy- ewww!" They probably forgot an ingredient or measured wrong. I'm giving this 4 stars because my family rated it 4- I think it is a 3. Also I can't see how this serves 8 people; more like 5 or 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i needed to do something with my mushrooms, spinach, lasagna noodles and this was perfect! I added in more stuff that was in my fridge: I added an egg to the flour-margarine mixture; I added mild cheddar and parmesan cheese to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gallagurl12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I would even try adding a can of diced tomatoes and some cooked, chopped chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written and I have to say it was wonderful. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Okay I made a few changes based on what I had but this was wonderful. I had pasta last night so I made this with saffron rice. Also I sauted a vadalia onion with the mushrooms. I used fresh spinach and cooked it with a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice and used one cup milk and a half of cup of heavy cream. This was DEVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I will definitely make again - maybe next week! I sauteed onion, then added the portobellos, but added a bit more time for browning. I cut margarine in half, and used more garlic. I only had non-fat milk and skim mozzarella, so used those. The resulting white sauce wasn't smooth and rich (obviously) so I tossed in ~ 1/2 c. of parmesan, kept stirring and it turned out great tasting and creamy. I used fresh spinach, stirred it into pasta and sauce, then added the rest of the ingredients along with sun-dried tomatoes. I forgot the soy sauce, so who knows how good it will be if I choose to make it correctly! Everyone at home said mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I did my best to make this lower in calories and use healthier ingredients. I used whole wheat penne rigate and 1 tablespoon each of butter and EVOO with 2 tablespoons flour instead of the 1/2 cup of butter/1/4 cup of flour to make the roux. I also used 1 can fat free evaporated milk and made up the rest up to two cups with nonfat milk. I sauteed the mushrooms and the added half large onion and 4 cloves garlic in another tablespoon each of butter and EVOO before adding the roux ingredients. It was plenty thick the way I made it, especially after adding the cheese. I used fresh spinach that I tossed with the pasta and sauce after I'd removed them from the heat and I only used 1 tablespoon of worchestershire sauce (I'm out of soy at the moment--there's actually a little soy in worchestershire sauce) just to cut down on the salt. I think I did pretty well with my healthier substitutions. The kids and husband thought it was pretty good. I think I might omit the worchestershire/soy sauce next time and go with another flavor. I think it needs something but the soy/worchestershire isn't it. Maybe more mushrooms? I served this with Chicken Breasts with Balsamic and Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
wow!!! Love it and SUPER easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States