Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I used a carton of baby portobello and threw in a couple of button mushrooms because we had them. Then I used 4 ounces of fresh spinach. With 3 pats of butter I sweated this mixture for 20 minutes, added fresh garlic (3 big pods) added pepper and some soy sauce, sweated again. Once done, I reduced the liquid left in the pan, added 1/2 cup of milk, 1/2 stick of butter and flour adding 1 cup of cheese and a little more soy. put it together and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I thought it was great, I did about 1/2 the soy it called for. I could have used what the recipe called for. Fresh spinach with a mixture of cheeses I had on hand. Wonderful dish, it leaves me wondering though what it needs...it needs one more ingred. Will make again for sure. The two of us ate it up in two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messyparrot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Awesome! I used rice milk, but otherwise followed the recipe. This is a VERY cheesy dish! All of the flavors went great together. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Use less soy sauce and fresh spinach. Frozen spinach is just to bitter, and the soy sauce was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Made this tonight. The soy sauce was overpowering and didnt work well with the spinach. This combination almost tasted like sushi (which i do not like). The amount of spinach the recipe called for was way too much for our tastes. Overall did not like this and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I cooked half of a red onion; then I added swiss chard ( didn't have any spinach) and the mushroom; then the garlic and basil. It was awesome!! I think it would have been great even without the cheese mix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This definitely has potential. I used a low sodium soy sauce to cut back on the saltiness. My husband and I found this dish to be lacking something..I think it was because mozzarella isn't a very strong flavored cheese. Next time I may add in smoked gouda or something with a sharp flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is fantastic! I tried it for my family first and my husband said 'it's a keeper'! (rare) I then baked it for our holiday book club and they loved it. It is very rich so I served it with a green salad and chocolate covered almonds. A heavy dessert would be too much. I did substitute butter for the margarine and Braggs liquid Aminos for the soy sauce. Next time I will add chicken and I expect it will work out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious! I used only 2 tbs margarine and 1 tbs flour flour. I also used fresh spinach that I cooked down myself. The soy sauce adds another dimension of flavour. I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States