Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've made this dish several times, and every time I get rave reviews! It's my go-to dish for potlucks, so I usually double everything in the recipe except for the milk and the spinach. I've found that doubling the milk makes the sauce too runny. Doubling the spinach is just a matter of personal preference - I like spinach but I think even with the recipe doubled, the 10 oz package works out just fine! Sometimes I throw in an extra garlic clove or two as well. So good! My vegetarian and pasta-loving friends rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
We all loved this dish. I doubled the recipe and it was perfect in a 9x13 pan. I added chicken from a rotisserie chicken I bought, I drained the spinach and squeezed as much liquid out as I could, I added extra garlic, and I accidently forgot to double the amount of milk but it turned out wonderful. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I thought this was a nice change from your regular cream sauce on pasta. If you skip the soy sauce you are totally missing out on the point of this recipe! It reminded me very much of a pasta dish I had at a restaurant in the Outer Banks. I sauteed my mushrooms and fresh spinach together ahead of time and mixed in with the pasta before I dumped the sauce on. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
So good! I used corkscrew pasta because that is what I had and it made it a little difficult to mix in the sauce but still came out great. I also used fresh spinach and cooked it down in the pan before I cooked the mushrooms. I made half of the recipe because I cook for just two right now but my husband said he wishes I had made the whole thing so he can eat it again tomorrow. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I tried to like it, but found it extremely bland. It was definately missing something. I probably won't make again unless I make some major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is probably the best recipe I have found on this site. I followed it almost exactly.. only adding half a yellow onion (chopped) and 1/2 cup of sun dried tomatoes. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Everyone loves this dish, even the kids. I was skeptical about the soy sauce, but it creates a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used pasta made from mushrooms and skipped the extra mushrooms. So good! For those who don't mind the taste of mushrooms but don't like the texture--it was the perfect solution. I also used a bag of fresh spinach instead of frozen. Just let it steam above the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Followed directions exactly. Husband really liked it. I thought it was okay. It seemed like it was missing something. The amount of soy sauce seemed to overpower the dish. I will try again, but reduce the soy sauce and add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States