Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is the worse recipe I've made from this site. What a waste of portabello mushrooms and a package of organic farfalle pasta. The sauce was super gooey, like paste, and extremely difficult to spread/mix with the pasta in the baking dish. I think it's best to just add the cheese during the final step of transfering to the baking dish. However even if the sauce was the right consistency, the result was still VERY bland. Can't taste anything but mushrooms. And I love mushrooms but the orange I had while waiting for this to bake tasted 20 times better than this casserole. Another reviewer (Kristal) hit it on the head when she said this tasted like you just poured a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious. Used 1/2 the butter, 1 3/4 cup milk and 1/8 tsp garlic powder and fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was really, really good! The only changes I made were to mix Portobella mushrooms and regular because it's what I had on hand. Also did a 1:1 ratio of flour and butter because that's what I have always done with cream sauces (so 2 tblsp butter, 2 tblsp flour). I also added about 1/2 cup additional milk (to my halved version of the recipe) to make more of a sauce. I made more pasta, because half a box didn't seem to make sense for an 8 serving recipe, 4 oz of pasta certainly wouldn't serve 4 people. I will definitely make this as written again, but I also can't wait to try out other cheeses (feta and smoked provolone come to mind) as well as different pastas. If you are even thinking about making this - DO IT! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very yummy. I used whole wheat pasta which complemented the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It's hard to find good-tasting vegetarian dishes. Boyfriend and I made this for dinner and enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made this almost exactly as stated in the recipe (didn't have margarine, so used 1/4 c butter) and it was great. I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUALL26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Overall, this was pretty bland. It's basically a fresher version of pouring cream of mushroom soup over noodles. I even tried sprucing it up with fresh spinach, buttermilk, and more garlic. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was the BOMB! My 7 year old ate this and also loved it. I used less Soy Sauce though. It just seemed too much and I'm not a big fan of it, but that's just my preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this as the Vegetarian option for Christmas dinner. It was very good, and I'll make it again with a few changes. The minor problem I had was that I made the sauce too thick. Once I added the cheese, it was so thick it was difficult to mix in the pasta, mushrooms and spinach. Next time I won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I also had to bake it for at least 10 minutes longer to get it bubbly and brown--probably due to the thickness of the mixture. ALTERATIONS I MADE: I used 1/4 c. butter instead of 1/2 c. margarine and used reduced sodium soy sauce. I also sauteed the mushrooms longer and added a little of the garlic to the olive oil. CHANGES I'LL MAKE NEXT TIME: I'll increase the amount of mushrooms and reduce the penne to compensate. I'll also reduce the amount of cheese or use of mixture of cheeses instead of just mozzarella, which is a little bland. And I definitely won't thicken the sauce for quite so long. I may also throw in some sun dried tomatoes to add a little dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was so good and SO easy! I had to make a few alterations based on what I had on hand (don't we all?) and completely omitted the spinach (though next time I make it, I'll be sure to throw it in!). I also didn't have a lot of milk (only about half a cup left...ah, the life of a college student on a meager budget...) so I added a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup that I had. I used an Italian cheese blend of parm, fontina, asiago, etc and doubled the garilc. Turned out fantastic! I'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States