Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My boyfriend is a mushroom fanatic so I try and find recipes that contain fresh mushrooms. We both enjoyed this dish, him more than me but I think next time I will use marinara sauce instead of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was delicious. I used some water and worchestershire sauce in place of the soy sauce because we were out and it was delicious. Also added extra spinach. I think it would be good with some chopped tomatoes added in as it is quite rich, but definitely a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I really, really liked this recipe - it was a good hearty casserole. I've made it twice in the last two weeks :) Based on what others suggested, as well as my experience making it the first time, I did make some changes - like others I added 3 more cloves of garlic & nearly doubled the mushrooms in the recipe. I also made some changes to make it a little healthier: I used almond milk, which worked great & I cut the cheese nearly in half & it was still great! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Wife loved it. I liked it very much. Little bit on the rich/salty side for me - I think it was a bit too much margarine. Next time I make this I'll cut the margarine in half and add a few tbsp of oil to make up the rest, or try substituting the margarine for unsalted butter. Might also cut out half of the soy sauce (I'll taste as I go to make sure the sauce isn't bland with the reduced soy sauce). Great recipe overall. I substituted fresh basil and fresh spinach instead of dried/frozen. I was also light on the mushrooms - only 1/3 lb. Will see if I can improve it for my tastes next time. Great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Good, but it needs less soy sauce, less butter, and something else to add another element of flavor. Will try adding tomatoes, onions, more garlic, or red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is the worse recipe I've made from this site. What a waste of portabello mushrooms and a package of organic farfalle pasta. The sauce was super gooey, like paste, and extremely difficult to spread/mix with the pasta in the baking dish. I think it's best to just add the cheese during the final step of transfering to the baking dish. However even if the sauce was the right consistency, the result was still VERY bland. Can't taste anything but mushrooms. And I love mushrooms but the orange I had while waiting for this to bake tasted 20 times better than this casserole. Another reviewer (Kristal) hit it on the head when she said this tasted like you just poured a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious. Used 1/2 the butter, 1 3/4 cup milk and 1/8 tsp garlic powder and fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was really, really good! The only changes I made were to mix Portobella mushrooms and regular because it's what I had on hand. Also did a 1:1 ratio of flour and butter because that's what I have always done with cream sauces (so 2 tblsp butter, 2 tblsp flour). I also added about 1/2 cup additional milk (to my halved version of the recipe) to make more of a sauce. I made more pasta, because half a box didn't seem to make sense for an 8 serving recipe, 4 oz of pasta certainly wouldn't serve 4 people. I will definitely make this as written again, but I also can't wait to try out other cheeses (feta and smoked provolone come to mind) as well as different pastas. If you are even thinking about making this - DO IT! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very yummy. I used whole wheat pasta which complemented the flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
It's hard to find good-tasting vegetarian dishes. Boyfriend and I made this for dinner and enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States