Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Used 1/2 the amt of butter and milk in recipe, three garlic cloves, no soy sauce (didn't have any), and mixed Italian cheese. Probably spice it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Amazing in taste and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
My family really enjoyed this recipe. The only changes I made was adding more garlic, and pepper, next time I would double it so there will be enough for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved this dish!! My husband is not a leftover kind of guy, but he took this for lunch a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Trapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very good. However, true confession, I'm not a huge spinach lover, so I would add half the amount the recipe calls for. Also, needs more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved it! Probably one of the best pasta's I've made. I followed the recipe with few small changes that I believe added that extra flavor. When mixing the margarine and flour in the pan - add a splash of "Masala" wine - it truly enhances the aroma and taste. Also, I used water instead of milk, and did not include spinach since I didn't have any. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Oh so good. I didn't have frozen spinach so used a 10 oz. bag of fresh spinach. Just sauteed the mushroom, onions, in the oil and then added in the spinach until wilted (yes I added onions)...drain off any juice. I used butter not margarine, added in some grated Parmesan cheese with the mozzarella (eyeballed and more than likely more than 2 cups). I accidentally forgot to put in the soy sauce, and it was good without it, but will make it again and put in the soy (it did seem to need some salt). I topped with fresh slices of tomato and that was a very nice addition. One thing I just noticed is that I used the whole 16oz. box of Penne not realizing this called for only 8oz. But it filled a 9X13 pan perfectly. So wonder about only 8oz. of noodles. Very creamy but not too rich, this is a real keeper in our household. Do put in a bit more Italian spices with the veggies if you like seasoning. Update: I had a half casserole dish leftover and after 24 hours in the fridge the noodles really soaked up the creamy sauce. I knew it would be dry when re-heating, so I made up some tomato sauce with Italian herbs and poured that over it. It was really fantastic with the added tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I've made this dish several times, and every time I get rave reviews! It's my go-to dish for potlucks, so I usually double everything in the recipe except for the milk and the spinach. I've found that doubling the milk makes the sauce too runny. Doubling the spinach is just a matter of personal preference - I like spinach but I think even with the recipe doubled, the 10 oz package works out just fine! Sometimes I throw in an extra garlic clove or two as well. So good! My vegetarian and pasta-loving friends rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
We all loved this dish. I doubled the recipe and it was perfect in a 9x13 pan. I added chicken from a rotisserie chicken I bought, I drained the spinach and squeezed as much liquid out as I could, I added extra garlic, and I accidently forgot to double the amount of milk but it turned out wonderful. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I thought this was a nice change from your regular cream sauce on pasta. If you skip the soy sauce you are totally missing out on the point of this recipe! It reminded me very much of a pasta dish I had at a restaurant in the Outer Banks. I sauteed my mushrooms and fresh spinach together ahead of time and mixed in with the pasta before I dumped the sauce on. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States