Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was pretty good. i added the entire 2 cups of milk. you just have to do it gradually. add some milk let it thicken back up and add more. I accidently added too much garlic for my taste. Otherwise good find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Fabulous! This reminds me of my favorite dish at Casa's, a local Italian restaurant. It was easy to make and delicious. I did use extra penne (just used all that was in the box) and extra spinach (again, just used the whole box), reduced the butter by about 2 Tbs., used 2 good sized garlic cloves, cut the milk to 1 3/4 c. as per other's suggestions, and squeezed the spinach to rid it of excess water. It was not at all runny, and I think the 2 cups of milk would have been okay-you just have to be patient and wait for the sauce to thicken before mixing it all in, or I can see how it would be runny. The soy sauce was an excellent addition! Served with potato rosemary bread from the bakery section of the supermarket and romaine lettuce mixed with Cesar dressing. Great vegetarian meal! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This recipe was great but I agree with other reviewers that the soy sauce needs to be cut back or entirely omitted. Adding red pepper flakes gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This really is a five star recipe. I used half the butter, half the soy, 1 1/2c milk and two garlic cloves - and it turned out just right. It surely won't serve 8 as indicated... maybe 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I doubled the basil and garlic and sauteed an onion with the mushrooms. Only used 1/3 cup of butter instead of 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very good! I used a multi-grain penne and it was yummy. Next time I might add chicken or broccoli in place of spinach would also be good. I will also add some more basil. I cooked a bag of fresh spinach in place of the frozen and doubled the mushrooms. I love this recipe because can make it really healthy without sacrificing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yummy! I can take or leave mushrooms and spinach but spinach is so good for you I've been looking for recipes that use it. This tastes just like a cheesy spinach dip with pasta mixed in. It wasn't heavy on the mushroom taste either. Just a trace. I did squeeze excess water from the spinach before adding and it wasn't runny at all. If you like spinach dip, you'll probably like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
It was a HIT in our home! Everyone loved it. I did it twice and in the 2nd time I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp thyme, and i added about 1/4c extra milk bcoz my suace turned out really thick. I used mozzarella and emmental cheese (it gave a sharp taste to the sauce), yummmm yummm!! If i'll cook this again, I'll add chicken to it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salha.K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. Used multi-grain pasta and followed suggestions about less butter, more garlic, and added red pepper flakes. Served with a full-bodied red wine and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I actually made the mistake of using a 16oz bag of pasta for that amount of sauce--and it was still absolutely delicious! I sprinkled the dish with bread crumbs and the bf and I couldn't have had a more satisfying meal last night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States