Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very good! I used a multi-grain penne and it was yummy. Next time I might add chicken or broccoli in place of spinach would also be good. I will also add some more basil. I cooked a bag of fresh spinach in place of the frozen and doubled the mushrooms. I love this recipe because can make it really healthy without sacrificing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yummy! I can take or leave mushrooms and spinach but spinach is so good for you I've been looking for recipes that use it. This tastes just like a cheesy spinach dip with pasta mixed in. It wasn't heavy on the mushroom taste either. Just a trace. I did squeeze excess water from the spinach before adding and it wasn't runny at all. If you like spinach dip, you'll probably like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
It was a HIT in our home! Everyone loved it. I did it twice and in the 2nd time I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp thyme, and i added about 1/4c extra milk bcoz my suace turned out really thick. I used mozzarella and emmental cheese (it gave a sharp taste to the sauce), yummmm yummm!! If i'll cook this again, I'll add chicken to it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salha.K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. Used multi-grain pasta and followed suggestions about less butter, more garlic, and added red pepper flakes. Served with a full-bodied red wine and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I actually made the mistake of using a 16oz bag of pasta for that amount of sauce--and it was still absolutely delicious! I sprinkled the dish with bread crumbs and the bf and I couldn't have had a more satisfying meal last night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good meal. I would definetly use fresh spinach and red pepper flakes (a few tsps) are a must. I thought that using butter and a little heavy cream would make this a little richer and I was right, too rich! I won't use them next time. The soy sauce is a must but I would recomend cutting it back a little. Also a good idea to double or triple the garlic. I used a bagged 6 italian cheese mix that really helped the flavor and I used 3 cups of cheese rather than 2 because more cheese is always better. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is one of my favorite dishes! It's a regular in our home. I do double the pasta, and the soy sauce as well add an extra cup of cheese, and substitute broccoli for spinach. It's a wonderful dish! My husband the meat eater loves this!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
WAY too salty for us. I would cut back a little on the soy sauce because it was just too much. Other than that the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a really great dish, though I added more flour and might just use less milk and butter next time. I added onions and throwing in some cooked chicken would be a great addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was super-tasty! My hubby doesn't like spinach, but did enjoy this. We tried using havarti slices for melting on top and it was good as well. The spinach was a bit strong though, so I gave it a 4 rather than a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States