Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used white mushrooms instead of portobello, which I didn't have, and doubled the garlic. I thought this was quite good. The soy sauce gives it a nice touch. Nice, thick consistency. The only problem was I thought it lacked a deep, rich flavour. Maybe I shouldn't have substituted the mushrooms? I will make again, but will tweak the flavours a bit. Note: for those of you who like to eat pasta cold, this dish does NOT taste very good cold. Much better heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I loved it, but somehow my husband did not... :( I doubled the garlic, substituted the mozarella with slices of light provolone (that's what i had in the fridge) layered at the bottom and on top, and used 1% milk and did everything else according to recipe, and it came out wonderful. Even better for leftover the next day! I don't know why people's sauce are not thickening; mine came out really nice and thick even though i used low fat milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shobi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was exceptional! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a jumping off point. I cooked the mushrooms with a cup of chopped onions and 2 cloves of minced garlic, then used 4 tablespoons butter, 6 tablespoons flour, and 3 cups of milk to make the sauce. I accidentally used a teaspoon and a half of basil instead of half a teaspoon, but it was good anyway. Because I increased the milk, I used 5 tablespoons of soy sauce. Upon tasting it, I decided to add 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar because I didn't really like that you could identify the soy sauce flavor and one of our favorite sauces for sauteed or roasted veggies is browned butter, soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. I was a little worried about the sauce separating, but it was fine thankfully. You couldn't really identify the flavors as being soy sauce and balsamic vinegar, it was just good. Oh and I used 13 oz broccoli instead of spinach and left out the cheese. So my version was kind of different from the written recipe, but such is the joy of manipulating recipes to what you want! All in all, we quite enjoyed this casserole and I plan to make it again. Next time I'm going to add 2 chopped, cooked chicken breasts (which I forgot to add this time around, I increased the sauce because of the chicken and extra broccoli!) and sprinkle swiss cheese in the middle and on top. I think adding a can of rinsed Great Northern beans for the protein would be good too if you want to keep it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Absolutely love this vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahleesinful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I cut down the margarine based on the comments of other reviewers. Also lessened the spinach and added some broccoli. Great dish, though it could use some more spices! Edit: I played around with this recipe again tonight and loved the end result! I added about half of a medium onion in with the mushrooms. Then used 1/2 the margarine, fresh basil, salt, pepper and a bit of cayenne. I also increased the amount of garlic. This gave me the spice I was looking for. I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Love this recipe!!! Make it all the time. I use a whole pound box of pasta and add two baked chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces. I also split into two 8x8 baking dishes and freeze one before baking for another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Six

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is the best pasta dish I have ever made! There is so much flavor- I served this for the first time to some friends (nerve-racking!) and it was a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I've made this many times and everyone always asks for the recipe. It's delicious! I also add chicken to mine and much more basil... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Mmm..this was delicious! I made it with whole wheat penne as this was all I had on hand. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States