Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
As written, this recipe would warrant a 2-star rating. But with some changes, it could well be 5-star! As others, I also added crushed garlic (1 large clove), and a few dashes each of soy and worcestershire sauce. Without these flavor enhancers, the recipe would be quite flat. I also reduced the sour cream to 1/2 cup; fearing that 1 1/2 cups would be way overkill. 1/2 cup was perfect, and I used the lite version with success. Once the sour cream and flour mixture was added to the mushroom and broth mixture, I cooked everything on med/low heat for about a minute to cook the flour a bit (raw flour is not a good thing). For further improvement next time, I'd add a few teaspoons of tomato paste to ramp up the flavor and richness of the dish (tomato paste is sometimes found in beef stroganoff recipes). Also, unless you're a strict vegetarian, I would recommend using beef broth in place of the vegetable broth. Lastly, I would reconstitute a few dried mushrooms (ex: dried porcinis) and add them into the mix. This would pump up the 'mushroomy-ness' of the dish. For texture variety, you could also add in some other types of fresh mushrooms (button, oyster, etc.) Lastly, don't cook your noodles before starting to prepare the stroganoff. They will get cold and sticky by the time you're ready to use them. Instead, cook 'em at the last minute. Once served up on your dinner plate, add a dollop of sour cream to the top of the stroganoff. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
My rating is for the version that I made. I cut the sour cream to a little over half a cup, then cut the flour to about 2.5 Tbsp. I cooked the onion and mushrooms with one minced garlic clove. When the mushrooms and sour cream mixture were on low on the stove, I added: 1 tsp soy sauce, 1/2 tsp worchestershire sauce, and a dash of white wine. I used a lot less parsley - just threw some in and then decided it looked good. The recipe was really tasty. I loved it - finally I've found a vegetarian equivalent to my Mom's beef recipe! My 17-year-old cousin said that she isn't usually a huge fan of vegetarian dishes, but she really loved this one. I'll definitely make it again! Great for company, although I'd definitely double the recipe, because it was not a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good thing I read the reviews! As written this recipe would have easily been a 2. With the review recommendations its a 5+++! Here's what I did to make it taste great: 1. slowly cooked the onions so they became caramelized (took at least 25 mins on very low heat), 2. add a mixture of portobello, crimini and shitake mushrooms, 3. added 3 cloves of garlic when sautéed the mushrooms, 4. added half a cup of wine after mushrooms were soft and cooked for about three mins, and then added 1 cup of stock, 1/2 tsbp of soy, 4 dashes of Worcestershire sauce, 5. added about half a cup of sour creme and 1/4 chopped fresh parsley. Awesome with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I have never had stroganoff before so I have nothing to compare this to, but I thought it was delicious and sooo easy. I made some substitutions to make this recipe dairy-free: vegan margarine and Tofutti Sour Supreme. I didn't have all-purpose flour so I used whole wheat which was awesome, surprisingly not grainy at all. I added a dash of soy sauce as others recommended and I served it atop rice instead of egg noodles. I'm looking forward to making this again! I would like to comment that substituting beef broth for vegetable broth seems to negate the purpose of a mushroom stroganoff recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I have made this twice now-it's awesome! I don't remove the mushrooms from the pan-I just add the broth in with them and boil to get really great mushroom flavor in the sauce. This has become a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Quite tasty I must say. Like others, I added a dash of Worchestshire sauce and lite Soy sauce...plus a splash of white wine. About a tablespoon of garlic helped as well. I used a mix of Portobello, Shitake, and Oyster mushrooms and about 3/4 cup of Fat Free sour cream (mixed with about 2 Tblsp whole wheat flour). Mixed some red onion with Walla Walla sweet onion. I put this over whole wheat rotini with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I took some of the other reviewers' advice and cut the sour cream (I used oat cream to make it vegan) to 1 cup. I also subbed some of the broth for red wine. As written, the recipe would probably lack oomph but with a few tweakings, it's great served on whole wheat pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I originally found this recipe on a package of portabello mushrooms and have prepared it several times. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was not only simple, but delicious. Over the top, high-class eats. I used half butter, half EVOO because I was using a non-stick pan and I didn't want the butter to scorch. I also used half FF sour cream and half FF yogurt. I ended up needing to thicken it up a bit, so I used a quarter cup of white wine and two tablespoons of cornstarch to make a slurry, then added it to the stroganoff. (I must have overlooked the flour in the recipe in my excitement to make this recipe.) Very, very good. This one's going to be a repeat. NOTE: For you low-carbers like me, I ate this over a bed of steamed broccoli. For those who aren't worried about that, I made Light 'n' Creamy Mashed Potatoes for my family. EDIT: Hubs thought it would have been better had I used red wine instead of white. Noted. I failed to mention that I also added some fresh minced garlic and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Pretty good. I made some adjustments to the recipe. I only used 1/2 cup sour cream per other reviewers and it seemed like plenty. I added some garlic. I also replaced some of the broth with red wine and added a splash of worstershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States