Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was a fine weeknight meal, but nothing spectacular. I added some worcestershire sauce and omitted the parsley (personal preference). Update: using beef broth in place of vegetable broth really enhances the flavor of this dish and brings this up to 4 stars for us. Also, I add the flour into the skillet first and let it cook for a few minutes before carefully stirring in the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
One of our new family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I have been looking for a vegetarian version of stroganoff for a long time. I followed other suggestions here and cut the sour cream in half and used a little soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, white wine, garlic powder, and paprika, and I still felt like it was missing something and was kind of bland, though my fiance, who is not a vegetarian, liked it the way it came out.I imagine it would be dreadfully bland made as written. I did not like the fresh parsley with it. If I make it again I will add more seasoning, and use dried parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I always start recipes as listed but then adjust as needed. This was super bland prior to taking the advice of other reviews. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste, some soy sauce, Worcestershire and garlic. used light sour cream and it was still tasty. Will be making this again (with modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Loved this dish! So did the husband who doesnt normally like meatless dishes. I used half portobello and half shiitake and also stuck to the 1/2 c sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Just the right out of everything! Very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this dish this evening and thought it pretty good. I sauteed the onions, removed them, then cooked the mushrooms. I like the onion cooked, but not indistinguishable for serving. I had 2 other varieties of mushrooms, prior to buying the Portobello, so I included those as well. I don't trust first time recipes, so I made a rue in the skillet used for the onions and mushrooms, developed the gravy taste to my liking with W.sauce, pepper, mustard and onion powder, and Maggi, then added the mushrooms and onions. Once warmed through, I added the sour cream-- once again to taste. I don't like the gravy too sweet. This may not be something I would serve for company, but a solid recipe for the weekdays because it is easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
this was super yummy, but I added some meat as I'm a carnivore for the win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I used this recipe and suggestions for others as a guideline. I cut the sour cream to 3/4 cup and the veg. broth to a little over a cup. Added garlic, white wine and 2 tbsp. worcesteshire sauce. I left the mushrooms in the pan when I added the broth. It didn't reduce. Next time I will use only 1/2 cup of veg. broth. I will also use 1 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup worcesteshire sauce. The flavor was good, but it wasn't creamy enough, and you could taste the broth too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
With the changes, this won the approval of even the biggest carnivores at my stroganoff-off. I used chanterelles, shiitake, and portabellos. Great over egg noodles or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States