Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used this as a great starting point. Like the others, I too added white wine, worchestshire sauce, soy and garlic to taste. I made it dairy free by using tofutti sour cream and vegan butter spread. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megalyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
[7/21/13] pretty good. used crimini, button, and shiitake. used 1/2 cup sour cream and added worcestshire and soy sauce. ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Followed Pinky Pink's mods (1. slowly cooked the onions so they became caramelized (took at least 25 mins on very low heat), 3. added 3 cloves of garlic when sautéed the mushrooms, 4. added half a cup of wine after mushrooms were soft and cooked for about three mins, and then added 1 cup of stock, 1/2 tsbp of soy, 4 dashes of [vegetarian] Worcestershire sauce, 5. added about half a cup of sour creme and 1/4 chopped fresh parsley. Awesome with modifications!). DBF added a small spoonful of sour cream to the top of his bowl, which mellowed and improved it. Perhaps I will use a full cup of sour cream next time. (For the future, need approx. six small portobellos.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I tried this today having taken careful note of the other reviews, without which the dish would have been bland indeed! I did not take the onions, garlic and mushrooms out of the pan, but continued with red wine, soy sauce and worcester sauce, and then the stock. As sour cream is hard to come by in Athens, Greece, I added some thick low fat yoghurt with the flour, and the result was sensational: sweet from the onions, slightly sour from the yoghurt, and earthy from the mushies, soy and worcester sauce. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
It's a good start. But you've got to at least double the mushrooms & bear in mind that a "large" onion is fairly subjective, so feel free to add more onion. I added Worcestershire (2 T), Salt, freshly ground White Pepper (1/2 tsp), 2 minced cloves of Garlic and Dill (1/2 T). If you want to keep this a vegetarian dish, then make sure you use VEGETARIAN Worcestershire (it exists!). Definitely do not cook the noodles at the start of things - just have the water hot and ready to go by the time you're adding the sour cream. Using Beef Stock would certainly give it more depth of flavor, but then why wouldn't we just go ahead and use meat in the recipe itself? Beef & Portobello Stroganoff would be OUTSTANDING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
OMG !! I was vegetarian for 12 years during the 90's in the UK - So I have tried LOTS of restaurant Mushroom STroganoff!! This was FANTASTIC!! My DH decides he is not eating anything with eyes (Did the joke with the potatoe he wasnt amused LMAO but I giggled) anyways He Loved this (I am still reeling with pleasure for this!) I did add soy and I added garlic.....DID YOU KNOW WORCESTER SAUCE HAS ANCHOVIE OIL IN IT?? Would skip if your vegetarian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I also like the modifications that pinkypink made. I did the flour/sour cream mixture and it came out a bit lumpy but I thinned it our with 1/4 cup white wine and 2 tablespoons water and kept stirring until it was thinner. Cook the noodles last. I dumped them in pot as soon as I removed the mixture from the heat. Also, I never cooked anything in a seperate pan. I just kept adding to the same large skillet. The least amount of dishes I have to wash, the better. Good eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mscavitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I must say I don't understand why people insist on making their own recipes and then rating them. If I like 6 pounds of bacon fat and a cup of sand in my stroganoff, then rate the recipe a 5, how does that help anyone? I made this recipe as-is first. Gave it about a 3. Keep in mind this is a stroganoff recipe, not a mushroom sauce. Funny how many people cut back on the sour cream, then say the recipe is bland. When I tried the recipe first, I started with 1/2 c sour cream per suggestions and found it just tasted like mushroom sauce. So i added in the rest. Much better. It's stroganoff guys! Sour cream is a big part of it! When I made it again, I did try many user suggestions. I actually (my own idea) used half an onion, 2 shallots, and 2 cloves garlic. Also did 1/2 cup wine and 1 cup broth. Added a full pound of mushrooms, and after cooking them, added the wine, broth, etc., straight to the mushrooms without removing them from the pan. Also added a few dashes of soy and worcestershire, salt, white pepper and thyme to the sauce. Pretty much tried every suggestion made here. Even after all that, I can't give this more than 3 stars. There is a tang missing and I'm not sure what it is. Have seen some sights mentioning mustard and tomato paste, so might try that next time. Not a bad dish either way, but by no means a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
WOW! I have made this many times now, so I should prepare the unsuspecting of the clamor: I had to make about 4 batches of it for my production group because everyone kept demanding more! And I was the only vegetarian of the bunch. Also works with brown button mushrooms just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
all I can is OMG! this is an easy & amazing recipe. We made it today & it is now a family favorite. No meat needed, the Mushrooms do the trick. Will Definately be making this one more this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States