Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I am addicted to this recipe. Not being a beef fan the Portobello mushrooms are a great replacement. I love the sauce but you definitely have to like sour cream. I make the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. And the outcome was more like a sour cream stroganoff instead of a mushroom stroganoff. And I added garlic powder to the recipe after making because it was lacking something. I think if I try this again, I will add minced garlic and either less sour cream or maybe use cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly except I used one 8oz container of sour cream instead of 1.5 cups. I wish I'd read some of the reviews first. Next time I will definitely add garlic and cut down the sour cream to a half cup. I'll also cook the mushroom mix on a lower heat (mine cooked up a bit too fast and got a little burnt, but that's my fault). I'm otherwise happy with the recipe for something quick that doesn't require too many special ingredients or planning ahead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellis03
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe was very good! Sauce was just the perfect tang! Only thing i didn't do was buy fresh portobellos,i used caned... But it was still very good. plates well. Will sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellis03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Unless you're using a Worcestershire sauce that's labeled vegetarian (they do exist), you're no longer making a vegetarian dish as it is traditionally made with anchovies. Might as well just make a beef Stroganoff if you're adding Worcestershire sauce. As with most, I thought the sour cream was a bit heavy handed and even wonder if it was a typo that was meant to read 1/2 cup. I did a quick check and MOST recipes that use sour cream used 1/2 - 1 cup (Alton Brown had a non-veggie version -- using beef broth -- that used 8 oz of sour cream and 4 oz goat cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDTERP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
So good and easy! I didn't have to alter the recipe at all. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
i make this often for my mostly vegetarian family, with fried tofu. i add i bit of red wine when cooking the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just want to let people know that if you want to call this a vegetarian dish do not add Worcestershire sauce! There are anchovies in it. If you want something that tastes a lot like it, try Pickapeppa sauce; it's really good and strictly vegetarian! Also, I put a lot more mushrooms, garlic and I also added red and green bell peppers; which is the way my mother always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My rating is after changes other users made as well as my own. I added garlic, Worcestershire, and soy sauce, and used less sour cream. In addition, I used mushroom broth instead of vegetable broth for a more streamlined flavor, and I left the vegetables in when I added the liquid so that they cooked together. I also added a tbsp of bouillon veg broth powder to enhance the flavor (low salt, no msg). The primary and only thing I didn't like about this Amazing and Easy recipe was that the parsley overpowered the other flavors. When I make this again I will use dried parsley added during the simmering process so I am not smacked in the face with random parsley flavor while I am eating the stroganoff. good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States