Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by bellis03
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe was very good! Sauce was just the perfect tang! Only thing i didn't do was buy fresh portobellos,i used caned... But it was still very good. plates well. Will sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellis03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Unless you're using a Worcestershire sauce that's labeled vegetarian (they do exist), you're no longer making a vegetarian dish as it is traditionally made with anchovies. Might as well just make a beef Stroganoff if you're adding Worcestershire sauce. As with most, I thought the sour cream was a bit heavy handed and even wonder if it was a typo that was meant to read 1/2 cup. I did a quick check and MOST recipes that use sour cream used 1/2 - 1 cup (Alton Brown had a non-veggie version -- using beef broth -- that used 8 oz of sour cream and 4 oz goat cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDTERP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
So good and easy! I didn't have to alter the recipe at all. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
i make this often for my mostly vegetarian family, with fried tofu. i add i bit of red wine when cooking the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just want to let people know that if you want to call this a vegetarian dish do not add Worcestershire sauce! There are anchovies in it. If you want something that tastes a lot like it, try Pickapeppa sauce; it's really good and strictly vegetarian! Also, I put a lot more mushrooms, garlic and I also added red and green bell peppers; which is the way my mother always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My rating is after changes other users made as well as my own. I added garlic, Worcestershire, and soy sauce, and used less sour cream. In addition, I used mushroom broth instead of vegetable broth for a more streamlined flavor, and I left the vegetables in when I added the liquid so that they cooked together. I also added a tbsp of bouillon veg broth powder to enhance the flavor (low salt, no msg). The primary and only thing I didn't like about this Amazing and Easy recipe was that the parsley overpowered the other flavors. When I make this again I will use dried parsley added during the simmering process so I am not smacked in the face with random parsley flavor while I am eating the stroganoff. good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I added hamburger meat, 8oz of cream cheese, and fresh garlic as well. Most amazing and delicious homeade stroganoff I've ever had! Big hit with my friends as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Dobbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Way way way too much sour cream! I even cut it back to about 1 cup and still was way too much. Will cut it way back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Yikes! This was tasting very good until I added those last ingredients. The only change I made to this recipe was that I followed the advice of others and cut the amount of sour cream in half, but in the end all I could taste was that sour cream! Husband said it was "ok" and I couldn't eat it. If I ever make this again I will either use yogurt in a smaller amount or make a cream sauce that is less overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used this as a great starting point. Like the others, I too added white wine, worchestshire sauce, soy and garlic to taste. I made it dairy free by using tofutti sour cream and vegan butter spread. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megalyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States