Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My boyfriend and I love this recipe. We have it almost once a week, in an attempt to add more veggies and decrease the amount of meat we eat. This makes it easy. I also use Worcestershire and soy sauce to give the dish a full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I added garlic and a splash of sherry to the mushroom mixture. I also added a splash of sherry to the vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
It was great overall. I did modify the recipe slightly, however. 1 T of butter Add only 1/2 onion 1 cup of sour cream 1 1/4 cup veggie broth Add more mushrooms :)! I'm a dietetian so little changes such as this can really make a difference nutrient and taste wise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I used pre-sliced baby bella mushrooms to make for even quicker prep. At first I thought there was too much sour cream flavor, but it really mellows. Makes for great leftovers, just make sure to reheat on low so the sour cream doesn't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
My husband said he actually prefers this to stroganoff with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I love this recipe. I also add a decent amount of garlic when I make this, and some dry mustard. Worcestershire sauce is good, but not vegetarian (though you can buy a veggie version). Cream sherry works well. Sometimes I add a bay leaf while I'm cooking the broth, and some dried thyme. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH SOUR CREAM. I think if you reduce it almost half this would have come out better. I've made stroganoff before and this recipe was quite different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIsom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This recipe is great if you look at all of the modifications. Adding garlic when you saute the onions is a must as well as adding soy sauce, Worcestershire, and pepper with the sour cream. I used low fat sour cream and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Awesome! Did not miss the beef. Took advice of other reviewers (thx!) and used 3 portobellos, beef broth for veg, 3/4 c sour cream, garlic, a bit of soy sauce, worchestshire, and tomato paste. We loved this! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States