Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very easy to make, has a pungent distinctive taste. Not kid friendly, my three yr. old and five yr. old refused to eat more than a taste. Their six year old brother said he liked the noodles (our son, the diplomat). I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was delicious using the modifications within the reviews - I added a tbls each of soy sauce and worschester sauce, 2 tsp of tomato puree and cut the sour cream to just under 1 cup. I also cut the flour down to 2 tbls. The recipe takes longer than 30 mins, but the resulting meal is rich with flavor and very meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was a very delicious meal. Loved it! And easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a very good dish. We all love mushrooms, so my family didn't miss the beef at all. Definitely does not need as much sour cream as suggested! I used less than a cup, and I think I'll reduce it a little more in the future. I did follow the suggestions of others and threw in some garlic, as well as 1/2 c. red wine (replaces 1/2 c. of the water), and a dash of Worcester and soy sauce. Very flavorful, and the leftovers were great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did add the suggested things such as garlic, lite soy and worcestershire sauce. It was just as good as the stroganoff I order at my favorite, expensive restaurant. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a great and MASSIVE dish! I would change the number of servings from 4 to 6, we have PLENTY left over and will be eating this for days. I used crimini and white mushrooms instead of portobello, simply because of what I had on hand. I cut the vegetable broth to 1c, and the sour cream to 1/2c, as others did. I also omitted the parsley, because I did not have any fresh on hand. I substituted whole wheat egg noodles for standard dry egg noodles as well. I added a clove of garlic to the onion and butter while cooking. I also left everything in one skillet, instead of removing onions from the skillet and cooking the broth as a separate dish. This was a great dish, and previous suggestions were SO helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Tasted good, but still kinda bland even doing what other readers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is really good. I add worchestershire to taste, cayenne and mini turkey meatballs to make the dish more hearty. It's very rich and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Mmmmm!!! There aren't very many meat-free dishes that my husband gets excited about. But this one was a "keeper" from the first time I made it. The only change I make is adding salt, pepper, dried thyme, and dried oregano to the mushrooms when I saute them. The fresh parsley is a must for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I will definitely be making this on a regular basis. So easy, and really flavorful. Thanks to all the great tips, I modified mine as follows: added some chopped cremini mushrooms with the chopped onion, cut down sour cream to 1 cup, added some soy, worcetershire, and dry mustard to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States