Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made the recipe exactly as written. We loved it! Maybe add a touch of garlic just because we love garlic, but this is an easy stroganoff recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was excellent!! Tastes like something you would order out at a restaurant, prepared for a fraction of the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just a quick comment --traditional worcestshire sauce is made with anchovies. Make sure you get vegetarian worcestshire sauce if you're making this for a vegetarian/vegan. I'll report on a vegan version of this recipe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made this dish a couple weeks ago and I was not really impressed. It didn't have much flavor. I'm a huge mushroom lover so I was really excited to try this but ultimately I was left disappointed. I just read some other reviews with different revisions. Those might help, but as is it’s kind of boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This turned out great. I cooked some garlic along with the onion, and added a little white wine to the broth after it was reduced. It got rave reviews at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Unbelievable!! Used modifications from COOKINGIRLLJ. Ive never made anything vegetarian taste so good. Taste more beefy than beef. It tastes more meaty than meat. Btw, I cubed the mushroom so they looked like chunks of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used more mushrooms, 1/2 cup sour cream,garlic, splash of soy and worchestershire. I also replace the egg noodles with whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
One word sums up this recipe: BLAND. Actually. two words.... extremely bland! I was so excited to try this recipe, because I love mushrooms and I love stroganoff. Perfect combination. However, this recipe, as it stands, does not do it justice. The first time around, I followed the recipe as is. It was unpalatable. So, then I scoured the comments to see what other additions I could make to salvage it. So I added garlic, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, onion soup mix. It was only then that my family & I could eat this. Also, as one commenter already wrote, this recipe from start to finish take a lot longer than the recipe alots. So if you do decide to make this, I would give yourself one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious. I did add a dash of Worcestershire and soy sauce, and minced garlic like others suggested. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made a few of the changes recommended - added Worcestershire and soy, reduced the sour cream, and subbed 1/2 c. broth for red wine. I also did the broth/wine in a small saucepan and reduced it down while the onions and mushrooms were caramelizing to save some time. I didn't need to use flour at all since I let it reduce down and the flavor was much more concentrated and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States