Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This turned out great. I cooked some garlic along with the onion, and added a little white wine to the broth after it was reduced. It got rave reviews at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Unbelievable!! Used modifications from COOKINGIRLLJ. Ive never made anything vegetarian taste so good. Taste more beefy than beef. It tastes more meaty than meat. Btw, I cubed the mushroom so they looked like chunks of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used more mushrooms, 1/2 cup sour cream,garlic, splash of soy and worchestershire. I also replace the egg noodles with whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
One word sums up this recipe: BLAND. Actually. two words.... extremely bland! I was so excited to try this recipe, because I love mushrooms and I love stroganoff. Perfect combination. However, this recipe, as it stands, does not do it justice. The first time around, I followed the recipe as is. It was unpalatable. So, then I scoured the comments to see what other additions I could make to salvage it. So I added garlic, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, onion soup mix. It was only then that my family & I could eat this. Also, as one commenter already wrote, this recipe from start to finish take a lot longer than the recipe alots. So if you do decide to make this, I would give yourself one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious. I did add a dash of Worcestershire and soy sauce, and minced garlic like others suggested. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made a few of the changes recommended - added Worcestershire and soy, reduced the sour cream, and subbed 1/2 c. broth for red wine. I also did the broth/wine in a small saucepan and reduced it down while the onions and mushrooms were caramelizing to save some time. I didn't need to use flour at all since I let it reduce down and the flavor was much more concentrated and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
excellent with the modifications suggested. 1/2 cup sour cream at the end. 1 teaspoon of soy sauce. 1/2 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. garlic with the onions. and beef stock. will cook the mushrooms even longer next time. will definitely make again. even add some beef next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydalayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Add about half a can (tiny size) of tomato paste at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I couldn't stop eating the sauce!! So yummy! However I did use the suggestions. I added 3 cloves of garlic and sauteed them with the onions. When I added the mushrooms and they softenend a bit I added a bit of Thyme, Oregano, Pepper and a bit of Cayenne I used no butter, only a tsp of oil and cooking spray to sautee veggies in. And I used a tbs of cornstarch instead of flour to make sure there was no flour taste in the food. At the very end I added the parm and blended it in. I found this recipe with the suggested changes good. I hate changing a recipe...but it's always good to have the guidline to make it even better...thanks for sharing! Would like to try with beef or meatballs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
So good. I added white wine, garlic, soy sauce ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edaMama^^

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States