Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made a few of the changes recommended - added Worcestershire and soy, reduced the sour cream, and subbed 1/2 c. broth for red wine. I also did the broth/wine in a small saucepan and reduced it down while the onions and mushrooms were caramelizing to save some time. I didn't need to use flour at all since I let it reduce down and the flavor was much more concentrated and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
excellent with the modifications suggested. 1/2 cup sour cream at the end. 1 teaspoon of soy sauce. 1/2 teaspoon of worcestershire sauce. garlic with the onions. and beef stock. will cook the mushrooms even longer next time. will definitely make again. even add some beef next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydalayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Add about half a can (tiny size) of tomato paste at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I couldn't stop eating the sauce!! So yummy! However I did use the suggestions. I added 3 cloves of garlic and sauteed them with the onions. When I added the mushrooms and they softenend a bit I added a bit of Thyme, Oregano, Pepper and a bit of Cayenne I used no butter, only a tsp of oil and cooking spray to sautee veggies in. And I used a tbs of cornstarch instead of flour to make sure there was no flour taste in the food. At the very end I added the parm and blended it in. I found this recipe with the suggested changes good. I hate changing a recipe...but it's always good to have the guidline to make it even better...thanks for sharing! Would like to try with beef or meatballs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
So good. I added white wine, garlic, soy sauce ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edaMama^^

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this as written and it was just ok, i may try it again using the suggestions of other reviews and ill probably cut the parsley way down or just leave it out i found it to be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I rated as four stars because I made the modifications similar to other reviews and agree that the original recipe needed the little 'extras'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
After being turned on to portabellas, I started trying them in all kinds of dishes to stand in for meat when I tasted how meaty they were. The additions of soy and worcestershire are great ideas and I would say add the sour cream to taste. I wouldn't start off with so much. Someone reccommended you could substitue beef broth for the veggie. Perfectly fine! Not everyone who enjoys vegetables is a vegetarian, so I say whichever you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Didn't miss the meat! This dish was awesome, rich and creamy! Will keep in the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very easy to make, has a pungent distinctive taste. Not kid friendly, my three yr. old and five yr. old refused to eat more than a taste. Their six year old brother said he liked the noodles (our son, the diplomat). I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States