Portobello Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Man, this recipe is to die for!!! I really think if your sauce is sweet or too strong - you did not reduce it enough. I was making the same mistake and my husband came in and brought it up to a rolling boil (which the recipe does not tell you to do) to cook off more of the alcohol and then we turned it back down to a simmer. It truly made all the difference!!! Very rich flavor - I would give it 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Our family did not care for this sauce. I imagine the taste depends on the type of port used. The sauce had a very bland not so good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I was a little disappointed by this recipe, especially because I LOVE mushrooms! Maybe I did something wrong but I followed the recipe pretty closely. I really didn't like the color of the sauce...kind of a greyish pink color. It wasn't very appetizing to look at. The flavor was pretty good but didn't blow me away. We served it over steak and I think I would have rather just eaten the steak on its own. Looks like a lot of people loved it though so you may not want to take my review to heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was awesome! I served it over steak but will be using the leftovers for pasta!!!! A new favorite thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've tried this sauce a few times with beef - wonderful!! Especially with the addition of plenty of shallots and a touch of fresh garlic. The only issue I ever had was that the sauce turned out with a pink/purple hue to it when using the red port. But I ran across a white port and decided to use that in this recipe instead. I served it with sauteed boneless chicken breast filets and, although the white port is a bit lighter than the red, it was absolutely fabulous!! My husband and guests loved it!! What a wonderful and versitile recipe for both chicken and beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This sounds like it should be delicious. When it was finished (pretty easy to make) I tried it and thought 'uh oh...it's not that great'. Once it was on the steaks, though, the flavour somehow complemented the steak wonderfully. My only issue was the port I used was pretty strong, and I probably didn't cook it for long enough, as it was a predominent flavor. It also doesn't keep well with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I served it over small fillets once with potatoes and once with pasta - it was great both times. The second time I forgot the basil and my boyfreind said it was "missing something" but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very good. I only added some garlic and parsley while cooking the mushrooms. I served this over baked chicken and angel hair pasta. A mild sweet taste. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful sauce to serve over Filet Mignon! I add in all sorts of mushrooms, whatever looks good at market...shiitake, oyster, along with portobello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States