Portobello Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very nice sauce! I used Aphothic Dark because it was the only red in the house and it was great in the sauce. I also added 2 garlic cloves and substituted fresh thyme for the basil and added some fresh chives. And about half a cup of fresh grated Parmesan. A super easy sauce to make and very impressive. My husband and I had this sauce with filet mignon and I thought that the sauce while amazing, was a bit overpowering for that cut, though my husband disagreed and thought they went well together. Next time, I will probably have this sauce with a cheaper cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Way to sweet, even though I followed directions to the letter. I plan to try again with a burgandy instead of port and sour cream instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I was looking for a mushroom/wine/cream sauce and found this. It was really good and satisfied my craving, but it's missing something. Not a cook, so not sure... garlic? salt? parmesan cheese???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So yummy...even the neighbor dog smelled it and came over to try a bite (with steak of course!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I served this over a portobello mushroom marinated pork tenderloin. It was probably the best recipe I have ever made. I added worcestershire sauce to try to make the sauce brown. It kind of worked. I also used leftover shiraz/cabernet instead of the the port and reduced by 2/3. Didn't use the basil, because I forgot about it, but absolutely loved it on the tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
So delicious best sauce I've tried making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan B.
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was delicious and easy! I used this sauce on top of homemade Portobello Ravioli! It was AMAZING! My boyfriend took one bite and sounded so surprised! He said the sauce was really good! Thanks for such a quick, easy and tasty sauce! I did end up using 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of half and half instead of 2 cups of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was awesome. I used this with a tenderloin. I used fresh portobello mushrooms that we grew. Wouldn't change anything. Even my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandimander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very, very good! Yes, it is sweet. I think I too will try a tawny port next time. We put the gravy over veal cutlets. There was enough gravy left to save for another meal. I only had 1 cup heavy cream, so I add about 1/3 cup sour cream. I plan to send this recipe to my girls to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAWYAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was ok. I was looking for a recipe that tasted like Steak Diane, one of my favorite dishes. This sauce looked just like it, but the taste fell short. It was a little too sweet, and I reduced the wine by more than half. I even added 2 cloves of garlic, season salt and garlic powder and it was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States