Portobello Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I used a tawny port wine, which is milder and less sweet than ruby port wines, but still sweet. I added about 1 cup of Parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup chopped spring onion, some garlic and pepper and a dash of salt to taste. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I served this over artichoke-stuffed ravioli and it was a huge hit! The color of the sauce itself isn't appetizing but the addition of spring onion and basil over ravioli adds other colors, which helps. So rich that I would only make it to share with guests so I don't kill just my hubby and me with calories. Will definitely try this again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbirdliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I liked it, and I had to substitute portobello mushrooms with white ones, and heavy cream with half and half. Even though it's not quite the original recipe, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swisschic1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Perfect like my mom use to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ma Fattz
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good sauce! Next time I'm going to substitute the heavy cream for Fat Free Half & Half. Land O Lake Fat Free Half & Half taste the best in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma Fattz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was very good! Used red wine and at the very end added a dollop of sour cream to the mixture. The sour cream adds a tang that we like. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was amazing! The only thing I added was some salt and pepper. We have tried it over steak and chicken and both was amazing. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
simply amazing. We had a bbq and had friends over. We served this with chicken we had marinated in beer and garlic all afternoon. The flavor went PERFECTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i luv 2 cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a seriously great recipe for mushroom sauce. I usually add a lot of my own twists to recipes, but I didn't need to do anything here at all! The first few times I tried this, I served it over chicken breasts and got rave reviews! I'm going to try this with steak one of these nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I tried this recipe and even let the port cook down. I did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Though I did not care for this recipe personally, I have to rate it at least 3 stars, because my dinner guests loved it! Go figure, as I was quite disappointed in how it turned out. The flavors in the recipe simply did not compliment each other, at least not for my palate. I did pass on the recipe to my guests, however; again, they loved it, so what do I know?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States