Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This is a balanced, hearty soup which will be especially popular on winter nights. I only had 4 cups of broth so mine turned out a little more like stew than soup but is quite tasty anyway. I wouldn't suggest serving this to anyone who doesn't like lentils as the flavor definitely comes through, but the onion and pepper flavors are less pronounced. I might top some of the leftovers with sour cream and a little salt instead of parmesan. Next time I make this I will probably add more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I substituted celery for the green pepper & only added a dash of basil instaed of 4 teaspoons. I used a 32 oz. box of chicken broth & a 14 oz. can. The soup gets pretty thick though so you may want to add more broth, possibly at the end. I did simmer the soup for longer than the recipe said. It tastes good with & without the added sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Absolutely delicious and very, very easy. A nice change from the typical celery/carrot lentil soups. I used about half of the recommended amount of lentils so that it didn't get too thick, and it came out wonderfully. The tomato paste gave it a wonderfully rich flavor, so if you prefer your soups "brothier," go with less tomato paste. We skipped the sherry and just went with a sprinkling of parmesan and it was perfect. This probably would work well with cannellini if you don't have lentils on hand. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought this was just OK, nothing wrong with it but nothing special. We'll definitely eat it all but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Portobello mushrooms are hard to find where we live so when I ran across them I thought I'd try something new! So.. this soup was what I did. I have one word... BLECH! It was not even edible. My son asked me why the soup tasted like "bathwater!" and he wasn't being rude - he was just asking like any 4 year old. Honestly, I'm not a negative reviewer, but I felt I needed to warn others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good! Next time I'd use less lentils and more mushrooms. A nice, easy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
substituted some water with tomato sauce as we had not tomato paste, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, nice simple soup that we will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I used homemade veggie broth and extra chicken broth I had lying around. I simmered for about 1 hr and had to add about 2 extra cups of broth because it was so thick. I also used rosemary and thyme in addition to the basil (I also added extra basil). I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very easy and very good. I substituted half the chicken broth for beef broth to give it a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was good. I didn't have a green pepper so I used red. I wish I had doubled the mushrooms, though! I normally like sherry, but I didn't care for it in this soup. I'll just leave it out when I reheat my leftovers. Next time, I might even add some shredded chicken breast, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States