Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Joe and I both really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I love this recipe as a base idea. I think if you like the flavour of basil, and/or Italian food, you will love this. Personally, I needed to add some oregano and fresh parsley to give the soup a more rounded flavour. I also added lots of ground black pepper to give it a bit of a kick (because I like a bit of heat in my food) As per some other reviewers, I would also cut back to maybe one cup lentils and add some more mushrooms. I also omitted the sherry. It was wonderful, and the parmesean is the ingredient that ties all these wonderful herbs together to create a very satisfying, healthy, delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I've been trying a lot of lentil recipes lately because my family is trying to eat cheap and healthy meals. This is one of my favorites. I usually don't like soups very much, but I did like this. It doesn't need the sherry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was good. I didn't have a green pepper so I used red. I wish I had doubled the mushrooms, though! I normally like sherry, but I didn't care for it in this soup. I'll just leave it out when I reheat my leftovers. Next time, I might even add some shredded chicken breast, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very easy and very good. I substituted half the chicken broth for beef broth to give it a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I used homemade veggie broth and extra chicken broth I had lying around. I simmered for about 1 hr and had to add about 2 extra cups of broth because it was so thick. I also used rosemary and thyme in addition to the basil (I also added extra basil). I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
substituted some water with tomato sauce as we had not tomato paste, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, nice simple soup that we will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good! Next time I'd use less lentils and more mushrooms. A nice, easy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Portobello mushrooms are hard to find where we live so when I ran across them I thought I'd try something new! So.. this soup was what I did. I have one word... BLECH! It was not even edible. My son asked me why the soup tasted like "bathwater!" and he wasn't being rude - he was just asking like any 4 year old. Honestly, I'm not a negative reviewer, but I felt I needed to warn others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I thought this was just OK, nothing wrong with it but nothing special. We'll definitely eat it all but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States