Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Fast, Easy, Simply delicious. I used Baby Bella mushrooms and four tablespoons of fresh basil but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. VERY good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbsbasic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is now on my Favorite Lentil Soup Recipes list! Yum! I did substitute some ingredients: red for green bell pepper; 1 can Rotel chopped tomatoes with juice, for tomato paste; vegetable for chicken broth; and red for brown lentils. The portobellos give the soup weightiness, while the sherry gives it a lovely cold-weather sophistication. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fabulous soup! I was looking for a Lentil soup recipe without carrots and stumbled across this one. I was somewhat hesitant because I was concerned the mushrooms may be too overwhelming - I am SO glad I made it - it is very very good! The mushrooms are not overpowering at all. I used all the ingredients and only substituted yellow onion for red (since that's all I had in my pantry) - plus I omitted the parmesan cheese for a healthier option. GREAT and TASTY soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It is very good! Could use a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Everyone loved it. I used real sherry afterwards and no cheese. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom2aMunch
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best lentil soup yet! (Didn't have sherry so I left that out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was very good! I added a little cumin and red pepper flakes because I like spice. Like some other reviewers suggested, I used less lentils than called for. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was easy to prepare and very tasty. I added carrots just because I like them and used yellow lentils because that was what I had. I will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I didn't add it. I also didn't have a green pepper, so I put in some celery, which was good! I did take some fresh, washed spinach and shredded it into my bowl of hot soup. I got the idea from another lentil soup recipe and it tasted really good in here. Maybe too much basil, next time I won't add so much. I did keep adding water to the soup as it cooked, but that's my personal preference on how thick I like it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great lentil soup recipe! Instead of tomato paste, I added a 14.5 oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Forgot to add in the sherry and parm...if you use low-sodium chicken broth, you will need to add quite a bit of salt for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States