Portobello Mushroom Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to create a veggie/healthier version. The sherry adds a perfect "kick" to the soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Fast, Easy, Simply delicious. I used Baby Bella mushrooms and four tablespoons of fresh basil but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. VERY good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbsbasic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is now on my Favorite Lentil Soup Recipes list! Yum! I did substitute some ingredients: red for green bell pepper; 1 can Rotel chopped tomatoes with juice, for tomato paste; vegetable for chicken broth; and red for brown lentils. The portobellos give the soup weightiness, while the sherry gives it a lovely cold-weather sophistication. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fabulous soup! I was looking for a Lentil soup recipe without carrots and stumbled across this one. I was somewhat hesitant because I was concerned the mushrooms may be too overwhelming - I am SO glad I made it - it is very very good! The mushrooms are not overpowering at all. I used all the ingredients and only substituted yellow onion for red (since that's all I had in my pantry) - plus I omitted the parmesan cheese for a healthier option. GREAT and TASTY soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It is very good! Could use a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Everyone loved it. I used real sherry afterwards and no cheese. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke Decker
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Best lentil soup yet! (Didn't have sherry so I left that out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was very good! I added a little cumin and red pepper flakes because I like spice. Like some other reviewers suggested, I used less lentils than called for. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was easy to prepare and very tasty. I added carrots just because I like them and used yellow lentils because that was what I had. I will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I didn't add it. I also didn't have a green pepper, so I put in some celery, which was good! I did take some fresh, washed spinach and shredded it into my bowl of hot soup. I got the idea from another lentil soup recipe and it tasted really good in here. Maybe too much basil, next time I won't add so much. I did keep adding water to the soup as it cooked, but that's my personal preference on how thick I like it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States