Portobello Mushroom, Fresh Peppers and Goat Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was ok - I liked all the ingredients, but I felt something was missing. I think next time I'll add some spinach and maybe just a little mozzarella underneath the veggie toppings to help bind everything together, as all the veggies and goat cheese kept falling off as we ate. I did reduce the balsamic to maybe 1 tbsp - just enough to get a taste, but not enough to overwhelm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was amazing pizza! I think I'll be making this over and over. I used marinated fire roasted red peppers, marinated canned portobella mushrooms, and sauteed a yellow pepper with the garlic. I added a splash a white wine to the peppers, too. I baked the dough for about 5 minutes, then sprinkled it with crushed red pepper, and the toppings as listed. Absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was awesome! I carmelized onions in olive oil, added everything but artichokes and added a little lite soy sauce. At the very end I added artichokes and I added the balsamic to the veggies - I used a high quality balsalmic. I cooked the crust for 6 minutes at 400 degress and then put the remaining ingred on top - I also added slices tomatoes and black olives the goat chesse and through some FF feta top! It was great the next day and was not soggy at all. I think mixing the balsamic with the veggies instead of spreading on the crust directly is the saver of not being soggy! I will def make AGAIN! Oh yeah - i then baked at 400 degrees till hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I had some left over chicken breast from a balsalmic chicken dish that i thin sliced and added to the pizza. Enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is one of our favorite pizzas at our house. My husband found this recipe when we were dating. We frequently take it to parties and our friends love it. very unique flavor combination, just be careful not to go overboard with the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this pizza 2 ways: one as written, but the veggies were sauteed and I added caramelized onion and wilted spinach. I used the same veggies on the second pizza but spread a layer of hummus on the crust instead of the olive oil and ommited the balsamic. I thought both were tasty but the hummus pizza got much more praise from my friends. I would make either one again, but would probably add a little bit of red pepper flakes. * Make sure to bake the crust for 5 minutes before adding toppings. Even with pre-baking my crust, it was still a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I htought this was great! It's got all my favorite things :) I used peppers from a jar. I sauteed the mushrooms, peppers and artichokes in olive oil first. I cooked the pizza crust for 5 minutes before topping. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I thought the toppings were fantastic, but next time will add sauce. Was much too dry. Also, I subbed roasted red peppers for the fresh red pepper and added fresh oregano and basil. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paintedlady
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was the most flavorful pizza I think I've ever had! I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil and garlic. I also roasted the peppers for about 20 mins in olive oil, salt and pepper. This was easy and looked and tasted like a gourmet pizza when it was done. The only thing I would change is I will use a bit less balsamic next time. I love balsamic vinegar but it was a bit strong. Does almost carmelize while it's cooking. Thought I would add cheese (b/c I always do :)) but 4oz goat cheese was perfect! YUMMY!! Oh...I also added a bit of sauce as you can see from my pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paintedlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I didn't like it at all, and my daughter thought it was one of the best things I'd ever made, so I split the difference and gave it 3 stars. My complaint is that the balsamic vinegar seemed to overpower the taste. Also, you have to make sure it's all eaten that night -- the leftovers were soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States