Portobello Mushroom, Fresh Peppers and Goat Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Alex's mommy
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
As the original submitter of this recipe, I have since changed a few things when I make this. I sautee the mushrooms in soy sauce and water. I use roasted red peppers from the jar instead of fresh and I sprinkle fresh basil leaves on top. Also, it helps to cook the dough for about 5 minutes prior to adding the toppings. Glad most of you are enjoying it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Flavorful and healthy. This is a great, different take on a traditional dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I'm a senior in college and this recipe was a welcomed alternative to the greasy pizza my friends always order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Good stuff! We did make our own crust...it just tastes so much better. Also, we sauteed the veggies before baking (no artichokes on our pizza), and pre-baked the crust. If you like "zing" this is your pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marty Stiewig
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
After reading some of the constructive reviews, I cooked the sliced mushrooms in the microwave first so that I could soak up the moisture with a paper towel. I also raised the cooking temperature to 375 degrees and still cooked it a little longer than the suggested 20 minutes. I’m a new cook at age 65, but I’m not afraid to try something out of the ordinary such as this. Because I do the cooking 3 nights each week, this was ample for my wife and me for two meals. It reheats OK in the microwave. I liked it well enough to take the picture. I’ll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Stiewig
Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wonderful!!! Very yummy. I used homemade whole wheat dough, which went well with this rustic style pizza. I did two thing differently. I add caramelized red onions after the garlic and I used herb flavored goat cheese. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
My friend forced me to try this, because it's not the kind of thing I like to eat at all, but I was surprised at how good it was. I'll be making this to take with me for lunches in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Rather disappointed; crust was soggy. Suspect it may have been from the mushrooms and balsamic vinegar. Flavours were good. Doubt I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was absolutely the worst tasting pizza ever. My husband who will eat just about anything, couldn't touch more than one bite. AWFUL. Can't believe the time I wasted preparing it. Makes me not believe the reviews anymore.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I thought that this pizza was very tasty. It was a nice alternative to traditional pizza. The goat cheese and balsamic vinegar flavors are very strong, so this recipe probably would work best if you REALLY like those two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States