Portobello Mushroom Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Sorry, but I did not care for this. I should have known that before I tried it. As a native Texan, I know chili and this ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Mushrooms are my favorite food, so I was excited to try this. I used about 5 different types of mushrooms, and added pinto beans, cilantro and fresh tomoatoes in addition to the canned. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was very good, I did make a few changes - increased garlic to 5 cloves, added cumin, used black and kidney beans and plain diced tomatoes. I served it over whole wheat egg noodles and topped with sour cream and a little mozzarella, it was a hit! My boyfriend who is an avid meat eater didn't miss meat at all in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I reduced the liquid and the spices and put this in the crock pot. I didn't throw it out, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I used Rd Gold brand Italian-style diced tomatoes and did not like the Italian seasoning taste. To sweet! The only other seasoning taste was just mildly hot from the cayenne. I had to doctor up the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Very good and very easy to make, I had most of the ingredients on hand. I also added the cumin as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I thought this was a really good beginning, GOURMETGUY. As did others, I added to it. More mushrooms (button), double the garlic, cumin and oregano, a can of pinto beans, a bit of tomato sauce and beef broth and some sauteed celery and green pepper made for one hearty and delicious chili-like mushroomy dish, which went really well wih Corn Muffins I (also from this site) and honey butter the first night. Served the leftovers atop buttered egg noodles, and that was good, as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a great chili that was so different. I used 2 lbs of cremini mushrooms, slightly more chili powder and threw in at least a tbls of cumin. I loved the flavor and texture the mushrooms gave the chili. Next time I may take thequalitycookdotcom's suggestion and add a green pepper. Oh I served the leftovers with whole wheat egg noodles and it was great. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was a great chili that differs from the norm. I used 2 lbs of baby bella mushrooms, added a chopped green pepper, used slightly more chili powder and threw in at least a tbls of cumin. I actually cooked this in the crock pot and decided to add about half of a can of beef broth just to make sure it didn't dry out. I will use this one again in the future - thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this for my daughter and myself following the recipe exactly and we both enjoyed it. I think when making again though I would add in some celery and may be some green pepper as it felt like there was something missing. Still good though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States