Portobello Mushroom Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was looking for a hearty dish and this hit the spot. I added a cup of chicken broth and a little tabasco sauce for kick. This was delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this recipe is too good and its simple to prepare too.. For those who hate kidney beans, this recipe will be the best to attract those... few ingredients i added to this recipe, like, instead of 2 cloves garlic i added 5-6 which gives excellent flavor.and cumin powder-2 tsps , coriander powder -2tbs and chilli powder-1-2tbs..with few basil, oregano and rosemery which came out too good.. outof my expectations..My hubby liked this soo much..will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was ok. I think it needs more flavor and to be a bit thicker, it's very soupy for a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Friend who is meat free loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I just finished making this for my brother and my boyfriend. This was fantastic!!! even my meat eating boyfriend loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skaleezay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
it's like chop suey with mushrooms. Not like any chili I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Added ground turkey and red pepper flakes to add some heat. also added a dallop of sour cream. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Excellent! This is the first time I've made non-meat chili, and it's surprisingly great! Invited a friend over to try it and she loved it enough to ask for the recipe. I served it with Texas toast, because I added a half can of water (the beans can)...it was rather thick. This recipe is definitely going in my book for future parties/dinner. Btw, I used pinto beans instead of kidney...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good as written. I omitted the cayenne pepper, but did everything else as written, except maybe cooking it longer. It turned out a bit soupy because I did not drain the tomatoes - you should drain them. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and loved it. Like others l added a few more items. I only had stewed tomatoes, l used one onion, more garlic, more chili, more cayenne and added cumin. I also used cremini and white mushrooms along with the portobello. Then l added some celery and frozen corn oh and left over barbacued chicken. Then l served it over polenta. OMG!! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States