Portobello Mushroom Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was looking for a hearty dish and this hit the spot. I added a cup of chicken broth and a little tabasco sauce for kick. This was delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this recipe is too good and its simple to prepare too.. For those who hate kidney beans, this recipe will be the best to attract those... few ingredients i added to this recipe, like, instead of 2 cloves garlic i added 5-6 which gives excellent flavor.and cumin powder-2 tsps , coriander powder -2tbs and chilli powder-1-2tbs..with few basil, oregano and rosemery which came out too good.. outof my expectations..My hubby liked this soo much..will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was ok. I think it needs more flavor and to be a bit thicker, it's very soupy for a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Friend who is meat free loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I just finished making this for my brother and my boyfriend. This was fantastic!!! even my meat eating boyfriend loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skaleezay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
it's like chop suey with mushrooms. Not like any chili I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Added ground turkey and red pepper flakes to add some heat. also added a dallop of sour cream. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Excellent! This is the first time I've made non-meat chili, and it's surprisingly great! Invited a friend over to try it and she loved it enough to ask for the recipe. I served it with Texas toast, because I added a half can of water (the beans can)...it was rather thick. This recipe is definitely going in my book for future parties/dinner. Btw, I used pinto beans instead of kidney...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good as written. I omitted the cayenne pepper, but did everything else as written, except maybe cooking it longer. It turned out a bit soupy because I did not drain the tomatoes - you should drain them. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and loved it. Like others l added a few more items. I only had stewed tomatoes, l used one onion, more garlic, more chili, more cayenne and added cumin. I also used cremini and white mushrooms along with the portobello. Then l added some celery and frozen corn oh and left over barbacued chicken. Then l served it over polenta. OMG!! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States