Portobello Mushroom Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and loved it. Like others l added a few more items. I only had stewed tomatoes, l used one onion, more garlic, more chili, more cayenne and added cumin. I also used cremini and white mushrooms along with the portobello. Then l added some celery and frozen corn oh and left over barbacued chicken. Then l served it over polenta. OMG!! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Excellent! This is the first time I've made non-meat chili, and it's surprisingly great! Invited a friend over to try it and she loved it enough to ask for the recipe. I served it with Texas toast, because I added a half can of water (the beans can)...it was rather thick. This recipe is definitely going in my book for future parties/dinner. Btw, I used pinto beans instead of kidney...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good as written. I omitted the cayenne pepper, but did everything else as written, except maybe cooking it longer. It turned out a bit soupy because I did not drain the tomatoes - you should drain them. Yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was looking for a hearty dish and this hit the spot. I added a cup of chicken broth and a little tabasco sauce for kick. This was delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I just finished making this for my brother and my boyfriend. This was fantastic!!! even my meat eating boyfriend loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skaleezay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
After making a few modifications this turned out beautifully! I used one can each of kidney and black. TONS of garlic and the usual chili ingredients: carrots, celery and more tomatoes than it called for. I used quite a few more seasonings also, some cajun etc. and cooked it in a dutch oven iron skillet. Because of this I had to add more water at one point and ended up still cooking it for less than 40 mins (maybe 25? can't really remember). I also added ground turkey, though it didn't need it...the mushrooms were fantastic in it. Next time would add lots more! They made the chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOSLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I have made this a couple times. last time i added some hot italian sausage and topped it with sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Delicious! I did add about 3/4 lb. browned ground beef and some tomato sauce, but the real star of this chili is the mushrooms. Served this with cornbread muffins and it sure didn't last long! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was very good, I did make a few changes - increased garlic to 5 cloves, added cumin, used black and kidney beans and plain diced tomatoes. I served it over whole wheat egg noodles and topped with sour cream and a little mozzarella, it was a hit! My boyfriend who is an avid meat eater didn't miss meat at all in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this recipe is too good and its simple to prepare too.. For those who hate kidney beans, this recipe will be the best to attract those... few ingredients i added to this recipe, like, instead of 2 cloves garlic i added 5-6 which gives excellent flavor.and cumin powder-2 tsps , coriander powder -2tbs and chilli powder-1-2tbs..with few basil, oregano and rosemery which came out too good.. outof my expectations..My hubby liked this soo much..will definitely prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States