Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I wanted to try this, while I'm not a vegetarian, vegan or otherwise opposed to meat. The flavor of this marinade is amazing. It turns out I cannot chew into the center area of the mushroom for personal texture reasons, but the outside bites were fabulous. I tweaked the fabulous marinade, chopping the portabellos down to a dice, soaked them in the marinade, added onions, half a scrambled egg, and kneaded it into ground beef. Then I formed regular burgers, and the compliments from husband were endless. Though I cannot actually eat the mushroom cap like a burger patty, I give this flavor all the other stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
So yummy!! Made exactly by the recipe and came out amazing! Will make over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Enjoyed with sautéed red onion and mayo mixed with mashed garlic in lieu of true aioli... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Simply perfect! My wife and I eat these on a regular basis. We generally leave out the cheese and instead add avocado, a slice of roasted red pepper, some type of greens and occasionally a fried egg, but the portobello preparation is what makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Yummy will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fpaulson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious! Easy! Was too lazy to go outside and grill. Made under the broiler after a late work day...very satisfied! Served open face with mixed baby greens and broiled onions. Drizzled with extra balsamic before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Move over, steakburgers!! With these, your most ardent beef lover can be completely satisfied. My husband is all about the beef. He had to agree, these sandwiches give a burger a real run for its money! Grilled, carmelized onions are a nice addition, as is a slice of tomato and/or avocado. We like it topped with Gruyere, and have also used Brie to rave reviews. I have taken lately to adding a couple of spritzes of soy sauce to the marinade to increase the complexity of flavor, as well as to salt perfectly. I've also added a tsp of Dijon mustard, as well as a bit of chopped, fresh rosemary from the garden, both with tasty results. You can vary the marinade how ever you want. Easiest way to marinate (mess-free, too!) is to combine all ingredients in a ziplock. Replacing the balsamic with half the measure of rice wine, 1 Tb chopped, fresh ginger, a little brown sugar and 3 Tb soy sauce makes a nice Asian variation. For those who found the vinegar taste to be overwhelming, it could be that you left it to marinate too long. 10-15 minutes produces the best results. If the timing is right, then I'd suspect the brand of balsamic is the culprit. It's best to only buy genuine Modena balsamic. Granted, it will set you back a few bucks, but the results are incomparable. The flavor is robust, yet incomparably smooth, with none of the acidic sharpness you get with cheaper brands. Make sure you toast your bun, because those portobello caps are juicy. A+ meat alternative meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! I broiled mine in the oven and it turned out great. You can hardly believe there isn't beef in these. I'd definitely recommend this recipe! Especially to folks trying to cut back on red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
FABULOUS - these are great burgers, they don't compete with beef burgers, they are something special that stands on it's own. Filling and very delicious, I have made these many times and will continue to. My family loves burgers but never feels we compromised when I serve these instead. I always use a slight coating of mayo after I toast the bun as it would get mushy otherwise, and add a thin slice of provolone cheese to top to slightly melt and add another layer of smoky taste to this burger before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Can't believe I haven't rated this already. These were EXTREMELY good. Followed the recipe to the letter (a first for me). I'm a meat lover through and through, traditionally at every single meal. Have been looking to cut back so I don't die by 30. Seriously better than the majority of beef burgers you will come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States