Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
tried this for the first time and it was a hit! hubby couldn't stop raving about it. used goat cheese instead of provolone since we are dairy-free and used a cast iron grill pan on medium low and the portabellas turned out awesome! thanks for posting bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Our favorite meal lately. I follow this recipe to the "T" and it is perfect. I use my whole wheat bread recipe to make the buns and it makes a great pairing. Absolutely love it. We used to go to a fancy restaurant where my DH always ordered the marinated portobellos... This tastes exactly the same but doesn't cost $30 per plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I love this recipe! So much flavor and the mushroom takes in all the marinade. It's so good, all my meat eating family thought a mushroom burger was gross until they tried this, and they were very surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious! This was very easy to make. I cut the mushrooms in half after cooking and served as sliders on ciabatta bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe and easily expandable with extra toppings to intensify the flavor. On my George Foreman grill, I grilled: fire-roasted red pepper, small amount of artichoke heart and red onions. With a pastry brush, I lightly coated some Artisan bread and grilled this also). Then grill the Portobello mushrooms. Pat the mushrooms dry after grilling or the bread will become soggy. Put it all together. Top with a few pieces of green leaf lettuce. A very colorful, tasty, and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This tasted great but I found the mushrooms to be holding on to the marinade too much and when I ate the burger the marinade dripped everywhere!!!! Maybe it's because of how I baked it, I would have liked baking directions since not everyone has a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chaumet
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These were soooo good! Didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Absolutely loved it. Its easy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
For lunch almost every day I have portobello mushroom broiled with olive oil, garlic and Herbes de Provence and then wrap it in thin pita bread, with tomatoes slices and a little bit of light mayo. Out of this world lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Great base recipe!! I followed the reviews and added caramelized onions. But thought I'd add a little more variety to it. I didn't use the cheese in my attempt to lay off the dairy. Instead I topped my burger off with the caramelized onions, some leftover roasted butternut squash, crumbled cashews (since cashews are often used to make vegan cheese), spinach, and some mayo/ketchup spread. It turned out pretty bomb. The squash added a creamy texture to make up for the cheese and the mild sweetness was a nice balance to the balsamic. The cashews added a nice crunchy texture and made it more filling. Ooh. Plus, I used brioche buns. Ohhhhhh. Can't beat brioche. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States