Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The taste was grate, but the volume of marinade was a little low. I would suggest almost doubling the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Cooked this for my daughter and she loved it. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These are good! I broiled them. I'd cut down on the vinegar next time....it was a little overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Truckee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Use coarsely chopped fresh basil instead of dried for marinade. Marinade chopped onions, green peppers, and yellow squash and grill as a side or to top burger. Garnish burger with pesto. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Excellent. I could never replace an occassional real beef burger, but this is something different and just as good. Try it with roasted red pepper (better when you roast them yourself) and goat cheese instead of provolone. I make extra assembled sandwiches, and zap them for 30 secs then pop it under the broiler for a quick meal later. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Amazing and so simple! I am always on the lookout for quick recipes to make when I get home late from work-- this definitely fits that bill and I will be making it again with a few revisions to what I did this time. I didn't make it exactly like this recipe because I used what I had on hand. I didn't make it exactly like this recipe, but close. It was too cold to grill, so I broiled the mushrooms. Instead of provolone cheese, I mixed some goat cheese with a few drops of balsamic vinegar (because I am obsessed with balsamic). I made a shortcut aioli and used pre-made mayonnaise, added Dijon mustard, garlic powder, and again, a few drops of balsamic vinegar to it. All I had were some sesame hamburger buns, so that's what we put the mushrooms on. So amazingly delicious! Next time, I will leave out the balsamic from either the goat cheese or the aioli because it was a tad too strong for my boyfriend (I loved it though and he did too even though it was a bit strong for him). I will also use some hearty renaissance bread instead of the sesame buns. I can't wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and was rewarded with delicious burgers! Only change I made was Swiss cheese instead of provolone. Even my dad, who always wants to know "Where's the meat?", had seconds. I will definitely be making this again, and sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Totally disagree with using less vinegar (but that's because I love balmasic). Fiance's a meathead and was reluctant to try but, based on another reviewer's idea, agreed to start a Meatless Monday tradition simply due to this dish. I didn't have basil (refuse to use anything but fresh) so I used some thyme. I know it's completely different but it worked well. We ran out of propane so I baked the caps for 20 minutes on 395, turning once half way and basting at that time. Took it out 2 min. before done to flip another time (back to gills down) and add the cheese. To keep it from getting soggy, serve on the bun with gills side up so the juices don't drip out. I didn't make the aioli but rather a wasabi mayo. Used a maui onion and a leaf of lettuce. Too bad I didn't read the other reviews first b/c I'm guessing avo would've been killer! TOTAL KEEPER. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was a very nice change from a meat burger. Easy to make very tasty. Served it to a meat lover & it's was rated 9 out of 10. The Aiola sauce my verdict is still out on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States