Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Made the recipe as written and added roasted red peppers, sauteed onions and some mixed greens on ciabatta bread. This will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delish!! Loved these. My husband ate his in about 5 seconds. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Excellent starter recipe. I love grilled portobellos, but my wife thought it was too vinegary. So I modified it as follows: 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce and 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar 1 tablespoon of olive oil (to reduce the fat) Top with sun-dried tomato for an extra treat (I love this!) Low-fat swiss works great with the burger too. Everything else the same. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I loved this! I made a few changes to the marinade, but I am sure it is fine as written. I used fresh basil instead of dried, added 1/5 of an onion, and the stems of the mushrooms. I placed all the ingredients into the food processor to make the marinade. I then let the mushrooms sit in the marinade for a full hour. I used another reviewer's suggestion and caramelized onions in the pan while the mushrooms marinated, and they were the perfect topping for the sandwich. Subbed goat cheese for provolone and used a cast iron grill pan instead of the outdoor grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Perfect recipe! Next time, I'll peel the skin off the top of the mushroom though. That part was tough. Put it on a toasted kaiser roll with provolone cheese, mixed greens, tomato & fresh onion. I also fried some onions in a small pan and added that to the sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe has been added to the regular rotation. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made exactly as per directions stated and served with tomato slices, lettuce, avocado slices and garlic sauce. It was awsome!!! Will make again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanoush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this! I did modify it a bit though. I stuck with the marinade, but I put the oven on broil like others recommended. I also caramelized onion with olive oil and garlic, then added some gorgonzola. I found the creamy texture of the gorgonzola really complimented the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantasatic! I broiled them on a rack over a cookie sheet in the oven for about 5 min each side, and also left off the cheese (going vegan) and these were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
These shroom' burgers are so good. The mushrooms are magical .... but not that kind of magical... but almost. My only tip is to toast your buns. These mushrooms are juicy and will wet your buns. So get 'em nice and crispy or the first bite will leave you with a soggy mess. I spread some garlic aoli on these bad boys and they were so bad... they were good... so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States