Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Amazing and so simple! I am always on the lookout for quick recipes to make when I get home late from work-- this definitely fits that bill and I will be making it again with a few revisions to what I did this time. I didn't make it exactly like this recipe because I used what I had on hand. I didn't make it exactly like this recipe, but close. It was too cold to grill, so I broiled the mushrooms. Instead of provolone cheese, I mixed some goat cheese with a few drops of balsamic vinegar (because I am obsessed with balsamic). I made a shortcut aioli and used pre-made mayonnaise, added Dijon mustard, garlic powder, and again, a few drops of balsamic vinegar to it. All I had were some sesame hamburger buns, so that's what we put the mushrooms on. So amazingly delicious! Next time, I will leave out the balsamic from either the goat cheese or the aioli because it was a tad too strong for my boyfriend (I loved it though and he did too even though it was a bit strong for him). I will also use some hearty renaissance bread instead of the sesame buns. I can't wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and was rewarded with delicious burgers! Only change I made was Swiss cheese instead of provolone. Even my dad, who always wants to know "Where's the meat?", had seconds. I will definitely be making this again, and sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Totally disagree with using less vinegar (but that's because I love balmasic). Fiance's a meathead and was reluctant to try but, based on another reviewer's idea, agreed to start a Meatless Monday tradition simply due to this dish. I didn't have basil (refuse to use anything but fresh) so I used some thyme. I know it's completely different but it worked well. We ran out of propane so I baked the caps for 20 minutes on 395, turning once half way and basting at that time. Took it out 2 min. before done to flip another time (back to gills down) and add the cheese. To keep it from getting soggy, serve on the bun with gills side up so the juices don't drip out. I didn't make the aioli but rather a wasabi mayo. Used a maui onion and a leaf of lettuce. Too bad I didn't read the other reviews first b/c I'm guessing avo would've been killer! TOTAL KEEPER. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was a very nice change from a meat burger. Easy to make very tasty. Served it to a meat lover & it's was rated 9 out of 10. The Aiola sauce my verdict is still out on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
They're a great alternative to meat. I made them on the George, because I read another reviwer saying they came out good, and it is true. I left 5 minutes on the George, and it was a little too much, but sitll was very good. Keep in mind that the cheese will take just a few seconds to melt on an electric grill. I already made them twice, and this is a keeper. Thank you so much for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I think I liked the idea of these "burgers" more than the actual burgers. They may have been better with some sauteed onions and crispy turkey bacon. Probably won't make these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Incredible!I sautéed some onions to add to my burger, my fiancé loved em'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These were delicious! I served them with a garlic infused mayo (1 clove garlic, minced mixed with 1 TBS mayo)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Mmm these were pretty good! Followed the recipe verbatim, it was quick and simple, an ideal weekday meal. I made carmelized onions which went nicely with the melted provolone...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States