Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is one of the most disappointing recipes that I have ever tried. I have not eaten portabellas that many times, but every other time I ate them I loved them. In fact, I found this so appalling that since eating this I have even begun to not care for them in other recipes. I am not sure what exactly made me dislike this so much, especially since in the past when I enjoyed portabellas they were always grilled in a somewhat similar manner. For the record, since so many people change the entire recipe and then give it a bad review, I made and dressed these exactly as written. Furthermore, my girlfriend, who has had portabella burgers she enjoyed on more than one occasion, found these just as disgusting as I did. If you are going to the store to buy ingredients to try these, I recommend picking up some yoghurt – as that was what I ended up eating for dinner the evening I made these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wow. Very very good! Perfect balance of seasonings. I'm sure it would be best on the grill, but stove-top works pretty well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good. This is a simple, quick and easy recipe that is also a healthy alternative. My family raved on and on about how good the burgers were. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Just made these bad boys tonight and they were delicious. I used a citrus and lemon pepper salt as well as regular pepper and omitted the basil. We also put a home-made chipotle mayo, grilled onions and baby spinach leaves with mozzarella cheese; everything done on the BBQ. A simple, savoury and delicious meal - try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
WOW! I just recently made the jump to being a vegetarian and this mushroom burger made me never want to eat a beef burger again. I can't wait to fire up the grill and have another one tomorrow. I changed the recipe a bit however. Instead of salt, pepper, basil, and oregano I used "Grillmate Steak Marinade" and let them marinade for a few hours. I also used only 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Definitely don't soak in marinade, just brush it on while cooking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I just have to rave about this burger, It was so delicious! I didn't have any olive oil so instead I used coconut oil. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newrunner2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
MMMmmm! These are really good! I took a note from another review about the lack of grill and used the cooling rack. I placed the rack on top of a cookie sheet pan and it came out beautifully. I loved the sweet, savory flavors of this dish and I will definitely find a grill to get the "true" effect next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Made the recipe as written and added roasted red peppers, sauteed onions and some mixed greens on ciabatta bread. This will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delish!! Loved these. My husband ate his in about 5 seconds. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States