Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious! Easy! Was too lazy to go outside and grill. Made under the broiler after a late work day...very satisfied! Served open face with mixed baby greens and broiled onions. Drizzled with extra balsamic before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Move over, steakburgers!! With these, your most ardent beef lover can be completely satisfied. My husband is all about the beef. He had to agree, these sandwiches give a burger a real run for its money! Grilled, carmelized onions are a nice addition, as is a slice of tomato and/or avocado. We like it topped with Gruyere, and have also used Brie to rave reviews. I have taken lately to adding a couple of spritzes of soy sauce to the marinade to increase the complexity of flavor, as well as to salt perfectly. I've also added a tsp of Dijon mustard, as well as a bit of chopped, fresh rosemary from the garden, both with tasty results. You can vary the marinade how ever you want. Easiest way to marinate (mess-free, too!) is to combine all ingredients in a ziplock. Replacing the balsamic with half the measure of rice wine, 1 Tb chopped, fresh ginger, a little brown sugar and 3 Tb soy sauce makes a nice Asian variation. For those who found the vinegar taste to be overwhelming, it could be that you left it to marinate too long. 10-15 minutes produces the best results. If the timing is right, then I'd suspect the brand of balsamic is the culprit. It's best to only buy genuine Modena balsamic. Granted, it will set you back a few bucks, but the results are incomparable. The flavor is robust, yet incomparably smooth, with none of the acidic sharpness you get with cheaper brands. Make sure you toast your bun, because those portobello caps are juicy. A+ meat alternative meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! I broiled mine in the oven and it turned out great. You can hardly believe there isn't beef in these. I'd definitely recommend this recipe! Especially to folks trying to cut back on red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
FABULOUS - these are great burgers, they don't compete with beef burgers, they are something special that stands on it's own. Filling and very delicious, I have made these many times and will continue to. My family loves burgers but never feels we compromised when I serve these instead. I always use a slight coating of mayo after I toast the bun as it would get mushy otherwise, and add a thin slice of provolone cheese to top to slightly melt and add another layer of smoky taste to this burger before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Can't believe I haven't rated this already. These were EXTREMELY good. Followed the recipe to the letter (a first for me). I'm a meat lover through and through, traditionally at every single meal. Have been looking to cut back so I don't die by 30. Seriously better than the majority of beef burgers you will come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
WOW I thought no way this will be as good as meat.....It was soooo good even my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I served on a whole wheat bun, with Swiss cheese and caramelized onions - DELICIOUS. Next time, however, I will toast the buns - the mushroom juice/marinade dripping off the mushrooms made the bottom of my bun super soggy. Still scrumptious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Excellent, I will be making these again. I added about 1 teaspoon of sesame oil to the marinate, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I cooked atop the stove in a skillet with a lil olive oil and HOT D...mn !!!! This is incredible and will be made on a regular basis. Served on bread and no topping aside from the Swiss Cheese I used. Very, VERY Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Unreal! Broiled caps 5 min oth side on a baking rack with cookie sheet under it. Seared with toasted buns, carmalized onions and thinly sliced tomatoe . Also put hallomi cheese on the burger. Seared the cheese in a fry pan with a bit of olive oil. Perfect bit salty goodness to this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apjuice
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States