Portobello Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I REALLY wanted to love this recipe! There is nothing in it that I don't enjoy, however they lacked in flavor and I couldn't do the texture. I made it twice - once the way it was written and once with some of the reviewers suggestions (Carmelized onions, roasted red peppers, and peeling back the outer skin and scooping out the gills) to no avail. I sadly won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Delicious, but a little bland. Next time I will add a sauce, but with tomato and onion it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Easy, fast, tasty, and satisfying! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Amazing. I'd now rather have this than a hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Made, ate it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaiNai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
It was better than I expected, not bad, but I still prefer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe, it was delicious. I didn't have dried basil so I used fresh and it worked out fine. I would make more of the marinade and put the shrooms top side down to start and pour the marinade into the gills,it soaks it up nicely! Then use the extra marinade to bast the tops when you turn them over. Next time I will try to peel the tops first as well. Didn't have provolone so I used goat cheese, I think a lot of melty white cheeses would work nicely in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by toomanycats305
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and grilled them on my indoor grill. I used a different topping sauce (actually a fresh salsa is perfect!) Made it for the first time and served it to company and we were all in love! Have two buns left over and we're getting more mushrooms and having it again tonite! It's a keeper and will be a regular around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These are so good. I broiled them instead of grilling. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Ok, I was too lazy to bring my laptop to the kitchen to read the recipe so I did it from memory. I forgot the garlic and added a little Worcestershire sauce as per one of the reviewers. I also used pepper jack cheese on mine and cheddar on my son's and topped with sauteed onions. I used a crusty french bread roll and placed that on the grill at the very end. Next time I won't forget the garlic but it was delicious without it too. I will play with different toppings each time so it doesn't get boring. The fact that my 11 year old who is very picky ate this, says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States