Portobello Mushroom Burger With Bruschetta Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used a 4 cheese blend instead of the horseradish cheddar and rubbed the mushrooms w/ evoo, salt, pepper and a little garlic powder before cooking. The bruschetta topping is wonderful and just made these burgers perfect in every way! I served these on 'Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls' also from this site. I will def be making these again and again! Thanks, Andy, for sharing this awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
We Loved the combination, very tasty. My hubby does not eat bread, so we did this instead; followed the recipe and as the 'shrooms were grilling we grilled 2 Turkey Burger patties as well (seasoned to taste). After heating the 'shrooms and topping we laid the burgers on top then added the cheese, we used shredded Cheddar/Jack as we are not horseradish fans. Had to cook up another batch as hubby ate his before I could get salad to the table, it smelled so good, he couldn't wait! We didn't miss the bread at all. Thanks for another way to fix up our favorite 'shroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: American Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I added quinoa to add some protien to this dish and it was delicious. I made a version for my daughter without garlic and she loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is delicious. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe. I feel like the horseradish cheddar was the wrong cheese for this. I love horseradish, but the flavors didn't work for me. I think asiago or mozzarella would be much better for this and will use that next time. I also think it would be much better without the bun. Just serve the mushroom filled with the delicious tomato basil salad and top with a delicious Italian cheese pair it with a side salad. Yummmmm My husband said he would like it much better with a 1/4lb burger under the mushroom and all the goodies haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These were very good. I had some nice mozzarella cheese and used that instead of the Parmesan since my boys were eating with us and don't like Parmesan, but we did put a bit on ours along with the Mozzarella. My basil and tomatoes were fresh from the garden and we added some onion slices. Unfortunately we did not have the optional mustard topping, so made my own topping. We served on rye bread since that is all we had. These are very filling, you'll be surprised how one burger will fill you to the gills. Great dinner for a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
The flavor was amazing! Not only that but it was very filling. Excellent recipe, I didn't make any alterations and will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Wow! This recipe is awesome. I made a few changes - we do not have a grill so I cooked on the stove at medium to low heat for the same time recommended in the recipe and brushed the top of the mushroom with olive oil. I did not use fresh basil but that didn't seem to make a huge difference. Lastly, I toasted the bun which I think really added to the burger. I still can't get over how good this was...may be my new favorite meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Ok...this was so good...and I went "Bun-less" for carb reasons....never the less...yummy! I loved the bruschetta and never thought to add grated cheese to it... I used Pecorino Romano instead of the Parm. I also used provolone instead of the horsey-cheddar that I could not find. The bruschetta is an and most appropriate topping for the shrooms. Loved it...once again...bet even better if I could have bitten into a wonderful roll....but my hips told me not to....lol....nice job CNM...will be making again.....great combo of flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Made this tonight. It was perfect! Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Easy and so yummy! This is the first time I've made portobellas, and I was in a rush...made the topping but used garlic powder...didn't have cheese, and cooked on the stove top, covered for 15 minutes. Even my picky mushroom hating daughter liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States