Portobello Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Great chicken, Used chicken thighs cut to one lemon and shaved the zest before squzing the juce, lemon pepper, season salt and garlic salt. EVOO on chicken before spices, 1 hr 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
well, the chicken is STILL cooking, after an hour...I'm afraid to eat it...I'll revise once I start eating the rubbery mass...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This was absolutely delicious, thank you so much! We eat chicken thighs at least once a week and this recipe is definietly going into the rotation. I did not change any of the ingredients, however I did alter the prep to make this dish more flavorful. First I season the bottom of the thighs. Then I place them skin side up in the dish and peel back the skin completely but leaving it attached along one edge. Then I season the bare meat with the spices and lemon juice. Replace the skin into its original position, drizzle each piece with a little olive oil and massage into the skin with your fingers. Bake at 375 for 1 hour and you won't have to mess with turning or broiling - just walk away. Your skin will be nicely crispy and the chicken will be moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is really good. I embellished the recipe just a bit by adding shallots, fresh thyme and marinating both the chicken and the mushrooms (separately)in a lemon based marinade for an hour or so. It was a great way to use up extra portabello mushrooms without fusing with a grill, which is my usual method of cooking them. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Truly enjoyable! I used bone-in chicken breasts. I marinated them for a couple of hours first with the lemon juice, minced garlic, and a couple of tablespoons of zesty Italian dressing I had left in a bottle. I also removed the skin from the chicken, since I wanted to reduce the fat and several people said leaving it on made the mushrooms taste odd. My husband isn't a big fan of portobellas, and he cleaned his plate! The lemon is strong, so some may want to reduce the amount used--I loved it with the strong citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I tried to make this without the skin to save calories, but I don't think it was the same. I found the chicken was flavorful, but not the veggies. It was entirely edible, but unless I make it with the skin, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with chicken thighs and drizzled just a little Italian dressing on top. Very tender with lots of flavor! Oh, and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDZABINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I tried to add to this (real garlic & spices) to spice it up a bit as suggested and it was still blah. The only thing I could suggest that might save it is to add a can of cream of mushroom soup. Sorry, it was edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Absolutely delish. I added garlic (of course), emeril's seasoning, and red pepper flakes - definitely a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I cooked this as directed but something just wasnt fantastic. It was ok. Chicken was ok but nothing jumped out at me as far as flavor goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States