Portobello Burgers with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Had this as a stack instead of as burger: used more spinach and less olive oil. Wilted the spinach with some fresh garlic and topped the mushroom cap, then topped with beet slices and creamy goat cheese and returned to broiler to melt the cheese. This was fantastic, filling and a relatively low calorie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I've made these a few times and they're always a hit. Even friends who think they don't like mushrooms are inhaling them. Also, the mix of garlic and balsamic vinegar fill the house with a tantalizing aroma :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good. I followed the recipe except to omit the beets and added a splash of red wine to the mushroom basting mixture. We served on brioche buns... the sweetness of which really complimented the recipe. I was worried about the balsamic overpowering, but it really didn't. Next time I will marinate the mushrooms instead of just basting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very creative and nutritious as well. I used Feta cheese. It was a filing sandwich and for the most part well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Literally one of the best things I have ever eaten. I marinated the mushrooms for a few hours in the balsamic/olive oil and brushed it on during cooking as well. I also roasted the beets with olive oil smeared on them instead of water. Insanely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made these for a vegetarian friend without the buns, spread the cheese right onto the mushroom, since we are gluten free. Nothing was missing in fact I think the bun would actually take away from the fantastic flavors. I honestly wasn't sure if I would like these but they are so good. I will be making them again and in fact using the toppings on some steak for my mushroom hating family. I did have to use a small can of sliced beets which I just put into another baking dish along with the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was absolutely scrumptious! I'm a vegetarian and I followed the recipe with the exception of the goat cheese, I substituted vegan mozarella cheese and I used a whole-grain toasted bagel for my bun. I've eaten this two days in a row. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is fantastic. I follow recipe word for word, except I used fresh rosemary. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Mmm-mm-mm! For faster cooking (and sooner enjoying!) I pressure-cooked the beets, which only took 15 mins. Used Mediterranean seasoned feta cheese from TJs, which I toasted onto ciabatta buns. Super yummy and definitely healthy meal (ate with kale chips and sliced persimmons as side dishes). Bonus: if you cook extra beets you have the makings of a delish spinach-beet-goat-cheese salad the next day!! Thx for the recipe. (I have a feeling that hubby won't be ordering portobello burgers in restaurants anymore now that these babies are in our repertoire!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Recipe was very yummy! I did almost exactly as listed except used bail instead of rosemary because that is what I had on hand and I toasted my homemade wheat bun. Also added in the basil to mix with the cheese. I'm going to use my left overs to make a salad for lunch tomorrow. I bet it would be even better grilled on a charcoal grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States