Portable Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I gave this 4 stars cause I prefer it the way I make it. I add 1 T. soy sauce to the dressing and use 2 packets of sweetener with regular white vinegar and regular vegetable oil. I also add a bucnh of chopped green onions to the salad. I toast the almonds along with some sesame seeds. This recipe has made the rounds with my friends and has gone all over the country by now! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Windsor Heights, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I broiled the chicken breasts. With my salad mix, I used lightly chopped cashews instead of almonds. I added chopped green onions and slivered canned water chestnuts. Splenda was the perfect sweetener for the dressing, and I gave the dressing a splash of soy sauce. Thank you for a fast recipe. It's perfect for work lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Okay, so it's not as good as the Chinese chicken salad you make from scratch, but for a quick and easy recipe, this one is remarkably tasty. My family made me promise to make it again (and again) and that's a promise I'll be happy to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is my middle son's very favorite salad. So much so, he requested that it be served at his graduation open house last June, where it went over famously! The only change I made was substituting white vinegar and sugar for the called for items. No difference noted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. My husband asked for more! When I first started, I wasn't sure about the ingredients but it was great! I will serve this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
We loved this recipe. I leave out the chicken and sweetener and serve as a light summer side dish. It is so easy to put together. Maybe it should be save as Chinese Cabbage Salad without the chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
A great summer salad! Easy and quick to make, especially if you buy pre-cooked chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Great crowd pleaser! Everyone wanted the recipe! Will make again soon. I did add soy, hoison sauce to the dressing and added more vinegar. Great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The taste was really quite good. Needed more of the dressing though, so next time I'll multiply the ingredients a bit, and make it less vinegary. But the crunch and taste were really great, esp. since I added water chestnuts per others' reviews. I'm keeping this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
A have made this recipe for many years - I add green onion and lots and lots of cilantro. The cilantro for me really makes the salad. I also use peanut oil instead of corn oil because it gives it a nicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States