Portabello Mushroom and Pepper Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Really good, simple recipe that lets the flavor of the Portabellos stand out. This recipe is very versatile and can easily be modified to your individual taste. Get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candiless
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious! This was my first attempt at risotto and it was easy enough to be a success. It does take some dedication to stir, but it is well worth it. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis. Next time around I will try a few changes: (1) I tasted the concoction all the way through cooking. The flavors were fabulous with each step and continued to build on each other. However, at the end when I added the parmesan cheese, it covered up some of the depth of the wine, chicken broth, and peppers. Next time I will add less cheese or try it with none at all. (2) I will not add salt while cooking the veggies. It's pretty salty as is. (3) I'm a person that loves the sharp bite of white wine. I would like to try adding another 1/4 cup of wine and reducing the chicken stock by 1/4 cup. These are just my ideas and I will mess around with it, but even without these changes the recipe was amazing. On a side note, I didn't have any portabellos so I used crimini instead. They worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great risotto recipe! We left out the green pepper, because we don't care for them. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Risotto is a labor of love. It needs to be cooked slowly, stirred constantly, adding a ladle of broth at a time, waiting until the liquid is absorbed before adding more broth. It's time consuming, but well worth the effort in the end. Creamy, flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe was great. I made a few changes. I used cremini mushrooms instead of portabello (I just like them more). I used red bell pepper instead of green. I also eliminated the heavy cream. Still divine and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily_s134

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Just made this and was underwhelmed. Nothing special with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a great risotto for someone like myself that has never made it. I tried it with jasmine rice since this is what I had on hand. Now that I have a basic knowledge I will branch out and try the arborio and faro style risotto. Thanks for making this experience painless. Great flavors. The only thing I did different was use red and orange bell pepper in place of the green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyO2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was overall a pretty nice dish. I've made a few risotto recipes, and I still don't think I know what a restaurant-quality risotto is supposed to be like, but I liked this quite a bit. I made it almost exactly as written, using an Italian Pinot Grigio for the dry white wine. The only hitch was the cooking time - I needed much longer. After a bit, I decided that "medium-low" wasn't enough, so I bumped my burner up to medium. I didn't stir it continually, non-stop, but I did stir it a lot. Even still, it took about 45 minutes until I thought enough stock was integrated. If this were a restaurant dish, it would lose points for appearance. Before adding the cream and cheese, everything looked lovely. After the cream and cheese, it all looked like gray glop. However, I was glad to find out that it tasted much better than it looked. I was a little skeptical about the bell peppers in here, but they worked for me. The portobellos really made the dish, though, so overall I can recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is my husband's and my favorite recipe! I add garlic and Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute, but that's the only change. It takes awhile to make and needs close monitoring, so I don't get to make it as often as I would like. I make half of a batch and we have enough for 6 servings. I'll be making this for Thanksgiving this year, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States