Portabello Mushroom and Pepper Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I love this risotto! I usually make half a recipe, and still use around 5 cups of vegetable broth. I use veggie broth so I can make this vegan. It is excellent, and I love the taste of the wine and the portabello mushrooms! The onions and bell peppers make this an excellent vegetarian or vegan dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
As the risotto came to the finishing point and I tasted it, I decided it was rich enough and did not add the cream or the cheese. I served it with salmon and brussels sprouts. The wine in the picture is what I used both for cooking and to serve with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Served this with Pork Loin and a Port Pomegranate reduction sauce. The pairing was a nice balance. I actually amped up black pepper and white wine. Yes it's a bit tedious but turned out great and will remain in my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is my husband's and my favorite recipe! I add garlic and Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute, but that's the only change. It takes awhile to make and needs close monitoring, so I don't get to make it as often as I would like. I make half of a batch and we have enough for 6 servings. I'll be making this for Thanksgiving this year, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was overall a pretty nice dish. I've made a few risotto recipes, and I still don't think I know what a restaurant-quality risotto is supposed to be like, but I liked this quite a bit. I made it almost exactly as written, using an Italian Pinot Grigio for the dry white wine. The only hitch was the cooking time - I needed much longer. After a bit, I decided that "medium-low" wasn't enough, so I bumped my burner up to medium. I didn't stir it continually, non-stop, but I did stir it a lot. Even still, it took about 45 minutes until I thought enough stock was integrated. If this were a restaurant dish, it would lose points for appearance. Before adding the cream and cheese, everything looked lovely. After the cream and cheese, it all looked like gray glop. However, I was glad to find out that it tasted much better than it looked. I was a little skeptical about the bell peppers in here, but they worked for me. The portobellos really made the dish, though, so overall I can recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a great risotto for someone like myself that has never made it. I tried it with jasmine rice since this is what I had on hand. Now that I have a basic knowledge I will branch out and try the arborio and faro style risotto. Thanks for making this experience painless. Great flavors. The only thing I did different was use red and orange bell pepper in place of the green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyO2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Just made this and was underwhelmed. Nothing special with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe was great. I made a few changes. I used cremini mushrooms instead of portabello (I just like them more). I used red bell pepper instead of green. I also eliminated the heavy cream. Still divine and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily_s134

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great risotto recipe! We left out the green pepper, because we don't care for them. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Risotto is a labor of love. It needs to be cooked slowly, stirred constantly, adding a ladle of broth at a time, waiting until the liquid is absorbed before adding more broth. It's time consuming, but well worth the effort in the end. Creamy, flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States